Easy Chocolate Crackled Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
exactly what I was looking for. I tried another recipe from this site and made a batch from scratch and these. These were way better. I was extremely disappointed in the other ones. I only had one cake mix that's why I had to do from scratch. I will probably never do them from scratch again, these are perfect! I didn't dip them in the sugar before baking. I am going to dust them when I put them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Received several compliments at the annual Cookie Exchange! The changes I made were adding another 2 tablespoons of water, a quick pour of egg whites in addition to the 2 eggs and I used butter instead of shortening. I took the advice of other reviews & left the batter in the fridge to cool overnight. The batter the next morning was still messy to handle but as soon as I placed in the confectioner's sugar, it became manageable and easy to place on baking sheet. My first "walnut" sized batch baked fast and were a little crunchy. I made the balls a little bit bigger and timed 13 minutes in the oven-they came out so airy and fluffy! Sprinkling some holiday sprinkles on top before putting in the oven added a nice touch to the final product. Great quick and easy recipe! A+!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sdcurry1986
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I made these for work, it was easy, quick and they loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdcurry1986

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Geronimo, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
oh my goodness!! im in love! I just made a batch of these this morning.I used DH devils food cake mix. It was sooo super easy. It yielded about 2 and a half dozen. I rolled half of them in powdered sugar which turned out beautiful! Just like the pictures. The other half I just baked plain with no powdered sugar and when they were cooled I placed a hersheys hug in the middle! It looks so cute! Thank you for a great and easy recipe!! This is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pooky2005

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beloit, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I substituted 1/2 cup of Crisco with 2 ounces of light cream cheese and 1/4 cup of butter.. creamed it and added other ingredients. I baked them for 10 min. They came out smooth chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
They are okay but not quite what I was expecting. There is a high end bakery, Sofra, in the Boston area and they make an earthquake cookie that looks almost exactly like these. I was not expecting them to be exact but close. They really are still tasty!! One problem I had was I don't know how anyone can get 4 dozen, I got 3, and I rolled them each the size of a walnut and the cookie size seemed reasonable. I went with easy and next time I will try a from scratch recipe to hopefully get what I am looking for. With this recipe I might as well just made a box of brownies, would have been much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivian1975

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sterling, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Very easy to make and very tasty. I will pass this recipe on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
So I used sanding sugar to coat the cookies and added dried cherries for flavor. These made such good cookies ... they tasted like little brownies with chewy cherries inside. I will make these again and try other additions. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
My 10 year old son made these, they tasted yummy and were so simple to make. The batter is VERY thick, I used a mixer and should not have! Next time I will mix it like meatloaf. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Umatilla, Oregon, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I made these just as the original recipe is and they were very good. Then I made them with adding a bad of crushed Heath english toffee bits and mixed some cocoa in with the powder sugar. Made them quite rich but a great variation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States