Easy Chocolate Crackled Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Used butter instead of shortening, chilled in fridge. They were still sticky but I coated my hands in powdered sugar before rolling and it worked well. Moist, chewy, easy!! Hardest part is hiding from the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Llemon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
My mother used to makes these for us all the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I used orangesicle and key lime cakes mixes and an ice cream scoop to drop cookies in sugar. Works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
exactly what I was looking for. I tried another recipe from this site and made a batch from scratch and these. These were way better. I was extremely disappointed in the other ones. I only had one cake mix that's why I had to do from scratch. I will probably never do them from scratch again, these are perfect! I didn't dip them in the sugar before baking. I am going to dust them when I put them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Received several compliments at the annual Cookie Exchange! The changes I made were adding another 2 tablespoons of water, a quick pour of egg whites in addition to the 2 eggs and I used butter instead of shortening. I took the advice of other reviews & left the batter in the fridge to cool overnight. The batter the next morning was still messy to handle but as soon as I placed in the confectioner's sugar, it became manageable and easy to place on baking sheet. My first "walnut" sized batch baked fast and were a little crunchy. I made the balls a little bit bigger and timed 13 minutes in the oven-they came out so airy and fluffy! Sprinkling some holiday sprinkles on top before putting in the oven added a nice touch to the final product. Great quick and easy recipe! A+!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sdcurry1986
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I made these for work, it was easy, quick and they loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdcurry1986

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Geronimo, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
oh my goodness!! im in love! I just made a batch of these this morning.I used DH devils food cake mix. It was sooo super easy. It yielded about 2 and a half dozen. I rolled half of them in powdered sugar which turned out beautiful! Just like the pictures. The other half I just baked plain with no powdered sugar and when they were cooled I placed a hersheys hug in the middle! It looks so cute! Thank you for a great and easy recipe!! This is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pooky2005

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beloit, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I substituted 1/2 cup of Crisco with 2 ounces of light cream cheese and 1/4 cup of butter.. creamed it and added other ingredients. I baked them for 10 min. They came out smooth chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
They are okay but not quite what I was expecting. There is a high end bakery, Sofra, in the Boston area and they make an earthquake cookie that looks almost exactly like these. I was not expecting them to be exact but close. They really are still tasty!! One problem I had was I don't know how anyone can get 4 dozen, I got 3, and I rolled them each the size of a walnut and the cookie size seemed reasonable. I went with easy and next time I will try a from scratch recipe to hopefully get what I am looking for. With this recipe I might as well just made a box of brownies, would have been much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivian1975

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sterling, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Very easy to make and very tasty. I will pass this recipe on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States