Easy Chocolate Crackled Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Received several compliments at the annual Cookie Exchange! The changes I made were adding another 2 tablespoons of water, a quick pour of egg whites in addition to the 2 eggs and I used butter instead of shortening. I took the advice of other reviews & left the batter in the fridge to cool overnight. The batter the next morning was still messy to handle but as soon as I placed in the confectioner's sugar, it became manageable and easy to place on baking sheet. My first "walnut" sized batch baked fast and were a little crunchy. I made the balls a little bit bigger and timed 13 minutes in the oven-they came out so airy and fluffy! Sprinkling some holiday sprinkles on top before putting in the oven added a nice touch to the final product. Great quick and easy recipe! A+!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sdcurry1986
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I made these for work, it was easy, quick and they loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdcurry1986

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Geronimo, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
oh my goodness!! im in love! I just made a batch of these this morning.I used DH devils food cake mix. It was sooo super easy. It yielded about 2 and a half dozen. I rolled half of them in powdered sugar which turned out beautiful! Just like the pictures. The other half I just baked plain with no powdered sugar and when they were cooled I placed a hersheys hug in the middle! It looks so cute! Thank you for a great and easy recipe!! This is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pooky2005

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beloit, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I substituted 1/2 cup of Crisco with 2 ounces of light cream cheese and 1/4 cup of butter.. creamed it and added other ingredients. I baked them for 10 min. They came out smooth chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
They are okay but not quite what I was expecting. There is a high end bakery, Sofra, in the Boston area and they make an earthquake cookie that looks almost exactly like these. I was not expecting them to be exact but close. They really are still tasty!! One problem I had was I don't know how anyone can get 4 dozen, I got 3, and I rolled them each the size of a walnut and the cookie size seemed reasonable. I went with easy and next time I will try a from scratch recipe to hopefully get what I am looking for. With this recipe I might as well just made a box of brownies, would have been much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivian1975

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sterling, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Very easy to make and very tasty. I will pass this recipe on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
So I used sanding sugar to coat the cookies and added dried cherries for flavor. These made such good cookies ... they tasted like little brownies with chewy cherries inside. I will make these again and try other additions. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
My 10 year old son made these, they tasted yummy and were so simple to make. The batter is VERY thick, I used a mixer and should not have! Next time I will mix it like meatloaf. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Umatilla, Oregon, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I made these just as the original recipe is and they were very good. Then I made them with adding a bad of crushed Heath english toffee bits and mixed some cocoa in with the powder sugar. Made them quite rich but a great variation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WaterlessCooker
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Such an easy recipe and so good! They taste like brownies...made for a wedding and after the taste testers were done, had to mak more! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vandergrift, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States