Easy Chocolate Covered Coconut Macaroons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Heaven help me, these are too good to stop eating!! I just made them for the first time to sell at a local flea market, and they were so good that I had to force myself to let people buy them!! I actually dipped the bottoms rather than the tops for a more traditional look, and they looked mouth-watering and professional. These will definitely be a new addition to the cookie trays I sell for the holidays, and they couldn't be easier to make. Thank you for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Moon Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookiedo
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
Good recipe, but you do have to be careful not to cook too long or they become very dry. I melted the chocolate first then stirred in half and half to thin it out a little and I didn't have any problems with the chocolate clumping up as some others said they did. I also drizzled some melted white chocolate over the top. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
Awesome!! Moist and chewy!! Easy to make. I made half with chocolate and half without..both were yummy!! I used Baker's Chocolate, which is easy to melt. Make sure you watch these in the oven, they can go to perfect to overdone quickly. I will be making these as gifts for Christmas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
Excellent and easy recipe. The only thing that I would not do is add milk to the chocolate - the chocolate doesn't melt - it's gets chunky. You need to just melt the chocolate quick and dip the cookies. Great tasting and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
This recipe was sooo easy and the results were perfect. They were gone the first 30 min's of my party. I did them with and without the chocolate and both were loved by all. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
My family is obsessed with this recipe! Everytime I make them I have to triple the recipe they go so quickly! Very easy to make and good whether you dip them in dark or milk chocolate, or just leave them alone. I don't recommend dipping them in white chocolate-too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2001
These cookies seemed a bit dry to be macroons. Maybe there needs to be some kind of adjustment for high altitude baking. I took these too a party and the guest had no problem eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Eh...These were OK. I think that perhaps they have too much flour in them. They even had sort of a "flourish" flavor. I looked up other macaroon recipes and will try those similar to this with a little less flour to see how they work out. Otherwise, they were easy to make and the chocolate makes a beautiful and impressive presentation. I did use the butter as a substitute for the milk, but found that the chocolate quickly melted in my hands. If I were to make them again, I would simply melt the chocolate chips without adding any additional ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
so easy and so delicious. they took maybe 20 minutes start to finish, very few ingredients and were delicious! the recipe makes tons so i only made 1/3. very forgiving recipe as i didn't really measure accurately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
what a wonderful cookie. cookie stays very moist, and is not granie since you don't add sugar. I got rave reviews from everyone who had tried the cookie, telling me they were better than the ones made at the stores. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States