Easy Chocolate Chip Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I made this recipe several times using chocolate and yellow cake mixes. I used vanilla pudding for both - that's what I had. The first time I made it as per the recipe and found it to have a greasy taste and feel. On the 2nd try, I reduced the oil to 1/3 cup (as it states on the box) and increased the water to make up the difference in liquid. Still very moist and delicious without the greasy taste and feel. Plus a savings of almost 100 grams of fat per cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Holy goodness!! What a GREAT cake! First time, I made it with chocolate cake mix and vanilla pudding. Second time, I used chocolate cake AND chocolate pudding...and made a couple of mini bundts and cupcakes!! VERY GOOD!! Both times my cake turned out wonderful-no issues!! And I love how you can substitute this for that. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This cake was so easy to make, and I was able to easily substitute ingredients for what I had in my cupboard. I took it to work, everyone was so impressed with how moist it was. I will definitely make this cake many more times with many different variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This is THE BEST cake I've ever made! Everyone loves when I bring it still warm from the oven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Over the years of passing this cake off as a scratch cake, I have found that using a 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce in place of the oil works great -- fewer calories and still very moist. You can also use egg beaters and the low-fat or sugar-free versions of sour cream and pudding to decrease the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I make this cake using Devil's food cake mix(Duncan Hines), devil's food instant pudding(3.9 oz), 1 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips, 1/2 cup water and oil, no sugar, and Pam and cocoa not flour for the bundt pan. I don't dust the cake. VERY rich, but my friends are adicts. I'm very popular around Christmas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This is very good, however, mine is just as good and even easier to make. See Chocolate Chip Pound Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Amazing recipe..made it several times and I always have to pass on the recipe. I use Devil's Chocolate cake mix instead of yellow. Probably the easiest cake I have ever made, moist and perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
amazing tastes and looks great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I made this cake for xmas and it was wonderful and so moist and I didnt add the chocolate chips because I used them in my double boiler and added butter and powder sugar and melted all of tat and poured it on top of the cake! Yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cullowheegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States