Easy Chocolate Chip Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Very good, but it needs a full cup of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I made this for supper club Friday night. It went over very well. I used a paper towel to line my Bundt pan with vegetable shortening. I used pistachio pudding mix instead of chocolate. I only used 1/2 cup of canola oil (that's all I had on hand). I mixed the ingredient without the eggs, then added them one at a a time. Then folded in Ghirardelli chocolate chips. I baked for a full hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This is a seriously easy cake to make. Made as directed but didn't have milk chocolate chips, so I used what I had, semi-sweet. Can't imagine that much of a change in taste. I thought it was good, but not exceptional. Very moist, but, probably won't made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoxanneG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Delicious and very moist! I omitted the sugar completely.....saw no reason what so ever to add extra sugar to a box mix. Used a sugar free/fat free chocolate pudding mix, low fat sour cream, 1c water and 1/3 canola oil, and kept it at 4 eggs. Made in a bundt pan and everyone really complimented on this easy dessert. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This cake is delicious even with a few mods. I did not add the 1/2 c. of white sugar. I increased the amount of water to 1c. and decreased the oil to 1/2 c. With these changes, the cake came out VERY moist and delicious!!! Will definitely do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Just enjoying a piece warm and fresh from the oven...mmmm...can I give it 6 stars?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I made this cake only with one change, i decreased the oil just a bit, more than half a cup but less than 3/4. The chocolate chips melted in with the cake but some were still solid. Either way the cake was great! I melted some milk chocolate chips (with a little evaporated milk) to drizzle over the top, as well as some peanut butter chips with a tablespoon of peanut butter mixed in for real peanut butter flavor. My husband and sister in law loved it! I will be making this cake again today with the lemon/blueberry change and a lemon glaze icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I don't really know where to start with this recipe. First, I used a lemon pudding mix and the dried blueberries as some people suggested but I followed the recipe exactly otherwise. The cake came out different from what I expected. It isn't a pound cake in the traditional sense. It is very oily and doesn't seem as sturdy as a pound cake. There is so much oil that quite a bit remains on the plate. It also caused the cake to stick to the plate in a gooey, unappetizing way. It was definitely finished baking, just far too oily. I plan on putting some frosting on this cake and keeping it in the refrigerator. Perhaps chilling it will help it firm up a bit. It isn't an inedible cake especially if you don't bake from scratch very often but it does retain that weird "manufactured" quality that cake mixes often have. I'm giving it 4 stars because I should have known what to expect from a cake mix. Minus 1 star for being overly oily and another for calling itself a pound cake when it is not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Moist and nice, though the outer edge was a lighter, more "baked" looking color than the darker inside. I used Chocolate Fudge instant pudding, for a rich and amazingly chocolate-y flavor, and semisweet chocolate chips. The guests I had over loved it, and declared it amazing, so I'm happy with it! Baked at about the right time, according to the instructions. Next time I'll try fat-free sour cream and another type of pudding. Delicious though, and perfect for people who like chocolate a LOT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
this has got to be the best chocolate cake I have eaten, and also the easiest to make. I make this cake at least 1 time a week for my family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States