Easy Chocolate Chip Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Over the years of passing this cake off as a scratch cake, I have found that using a 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce in place of the oil works great -- fewer calories and still very moist. You can also use egg beaters and the low-fat or sugar-free versions of sour cream and pudding to decrease the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I make this cake using Devil's food cake mix(Duncan Hines), devil's food instant pudding(3.9 oz), 1 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips, 1/2 cup water and oil, no sugar, and Pam and cocoa not flour for the bundt pan. I don't dust the cake. VERY rich, but my friends are adicts. I'm very popular around Christmas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This is very good, however, mine is just as good and even easier to make. See Chocolate Chip Pound Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Amazing recipe..made it several times and I always have to pass on the recipe. I use Devil's Chocolate cake mix instead of yellow. Probably the easiest cake I have ever made, moist and perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
amazing tastes and looks great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I made this cake for xmas and it was wonderful and so moist and I didnt add the chocolate chips because I used them in my double boiler and added butter and powder sugar and melted all of tat and poured it on top of the cake! Yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cullowheegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I made this cake last night and it is so yummy! Very moist! This will become one of my go to recipes! The only change I made was that I did not have a box of yellow cake mix and instead I used a Devils Food box mix! Which is probably how I will make it from now on. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly, only difference was that I used mini chocolate chips. I never got to taste this cake as I gave it as a hostess gift, but I was told it was excellent. It was certainly very easy to make, and smelt delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Really good and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Caron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
LOVE this cake - just wish it didn't use a cake mix as I generally cook from scratch. I like to bake this in mini bundt pans (1/2 cup batter per pan, bake on cookie sheet for 30 minutes). I serve the cake warm with the following chocolate sauce on top: 8 oz Ghiradelli semisweet chocolate squares, 1 cup cream, 1/2 cup sugar. Chop chocolate evenly. In saucepan, heat 1/2 cup of the cream and all of the sugar until it starts to boil. Remove from heat. Add chocolate and stir until smooth. Add remaining 1/2 cup cream and again stir until smooth and cream is incorporated. While warm, pour over warm cake. Can reheat "leftovers" later for another cake. Serve over cake with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. YUMMY! Taste VERY MUCH like Appleby's Triple Chocolate Meltdown. Also, this cake works great in 3-D CHARACTER CAKE PANS! Made an upright train cake for my son's birthday using this cake recipe, and it turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justa Vets Wife
Living In: Berryville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States