Easy Chocolate Chip Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
EXCELLENT cake!! My husband and family absolutely love it! I use vanilla instant pudding and mini chocolate chips and it comes out perfect every single time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I got this recipe out of my "All Recipes Dinner Tonight" cookbook. It has become an instant HIT with our family. I have made this multiple times for parties, give aways, and fundraisers and every time it is a smash. It is wonderfully moist and chocolaty! This is a must try and KEEP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I made this today for the first time and will be making it again and again! I chose the lemon pudding/blueberry option using fresh blueberries instead of dried. I also used only 1/2 cup of oil as many of the other reviews mentioned. I put in all of the other ingredients as called for, but I think the sour cream could be lessened to 3/4 cup or even 1/2 cup as my cake, cooked at 325 for 55 minutes is still VERY moist. Regardless, it is delicious. My kids, 9 & 7, and my husband were instant fans! Oh, I also added about 3 T. of lemon juice to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
If I were rating this cake for taste alone, I would easily give it five stars. The recipe, however, doesn't rate so high. It was very easy, but after returning it to the oven three times, it was still so moist that it stuck to the bundt pan and looked terrible. I was serving it to guests, so I warmed a can of frosting and drizzled about half of that over it to camouflage the missing chunks. It tasted wonderful, but next time I will decrease the oil as suggested by another reviewer. I think if it were less moist, I would have had better results. I also look forward to trying the lemon/blueberry version someone suggested!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Renick, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Spencer, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Hands down, the best recipe i have come across!!! I have been preparing this recipe for my family for about three years now and at every birthday party they look forward to it. I have even used this recipe in special cake molds and it turns out fantastic. Super moist!! I also have made a few variations with white chocolate pudding mix and white choc chips, but the original is my family's favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Egypt, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Carteret, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
My kids LOVE this cake, and now request it on their birthdays. It is so moist and rich, and perfect topped with Reddi-Whip or fresh whipped cream. If you are a chocolate lover, make this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Delicous!!!! This is definetly a keeper!!! So easy to make my family loved it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Very good recipe. Everyone loved it. I also needed to increase the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I took the advice of others and decreased the oil to 1/2 cup, increased the temp to 350 degrees, and took it out at 55 min when the toothpick came out clean. Unfortunately, after it cooled and I cut it, it was still not done. It was more like a brownie consistency. It may have been because I used a pound cake mix instead of regular mix, but I would think it shouldn't matter too much. Tasted really nice, but cook time may need to be extended??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I bought a bundt pan to make this cake. I think I baked it way too long, but it STILL turned out fantastic! This I used vanilla pudding, and a chocolate glaze, and received it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States