Easy Chocolate Chip Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Not impressed by this one. Delivers on the "easy" part of the name, so I'm giving this 3 stars, but I didn't care for the taste or texture. There are so many other good dessert recipes out there that I wouldn't bother making this one again. If you want to jazz up a yellow cake mix, try the Honey Bun Cake recipe on this site instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I made this cake for a dinner party, and everyone loved it. I dusted it with powdered sugar, but it would be equally good with a creamy chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This is a wonderful cake , so moist. I can't wait to take it to a special event tommorow. I did use the mini chocolate ships, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Yummy, really great! perfect and can use as a basic mix to change up many different ways. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yaba
Living In: Ninety Six, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This is the best chocolate cake EVER! Every time I make it, it gets great reviews!!! Everybody loves this one! It's always rich and moist, and as soon as you finish it, it's gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Very easy. Delicious! Taste even better the next day. I think I will add more chocolate chips next time. Mine took exactly 60 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This is a delicious cake! One thing to note--I copied the recipe exactly (except used canola oil instead of vegetable oil) and it turns out to be more of a chocolate cake than a yellow cake. So I wouldn't expect it to look like the yellow cake in the picture. But it tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Majcin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crest Hill, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
this is a great cake. I make it for the fire station they had their elections and the men just raved about it. it was a very good tasting cake. I am making another tonight and this time I am putting in a lemon cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Bigness

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I wouldn't really consider this to be a pound cake, more like just a yellow cake (I used vanilla pudding rather than chocolate because it's what I had on hand). Actually, I think it tastes like a cake version of chocolate chip cookies. People loved it - who doesn't love cake and chocolate? - and my classmates requested I bring it for the next pot luck. It's quite sweet, and it tasted to me like a cake-mix cake more than others I've made. I made mine as mini-bundts (so cute!) and I think it took about 15 minutes less than the lowest recommended time, so about 35 minutes I think. This is definitely easy and quick, but I think next time I'll just make the poundcake from scratch. There's just nothing like the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
The cake was good, but definitely is not a traditional pound cake. It was more like a boxed cake. The cake was extremely moist and a bit gooey even after an hour baking at 335 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States