Easy Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
instead of using condenced and evaporated milk in the cake mix try using the same amount in butlermilk instead also adding two tablespoons of stong coffee will give it a more chocolatey taste. also if you don't like the frosting try mixing chocolate chips into the batter and dusting the final cake with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willows, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I must say that I was disappointed in the end result. The cake, itself, turned out big and full. But it was not as sweet as I was expecting, partially due to the addition of the cocoa/evap milk that was cooked and added in, but didn't have sugar mixed in with it to begin with. Also, the frosting tasted like nothing but thick condensed milk. I may try this again, when I'm looking to experiment a little, and use another reviewer's idea of putting chocolate mints on top of the hot cake and allowing those to melt to make the frosting instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This cake was great, however, I cannot give it 5 stars due to incorrect instructions. The evaporated milk and cocoa powder should be cooked at low heat, so that the cocoa will dissolve without burning the milk. The frosting should be cooked at low while the cocoa powder dissolves, but then turned to medium high so that it will boil and then thicken. I stirred the frosting for about 1/2 hour before I just turned it up. I should have done that about 25 minutes before that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
OK.. Ive made this again and obviously did something horribly wrong last time! This cake is great BUT how do you make the icing?? I've been stirring endlessly for too long and gave up on it... I have a soupy liquid in the saucepan. Nothing thickened to a paste in any way. Does anyone have any tips of what I can do to save it?? I cut my cake expecting to have frosting for it so not having icing sorta ruins the good cake! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzibear

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I have to admit I was a bit skeptical of this recipe at first as I am a from-the-box baker. But, I was pleasantly surprised. Instead of the frosting recipe, I drizzled some caramel topping over each piece of cake and it was devine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
This cake is very easy and delicious! i made it for my mom's birthday, and everyone absolutedley loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
This is a great, classic 'made from scratch' cake recipe. Beware cooks searching for a moist cake like that from a boxed mix. This isn't it! This is a more dense, sturdy cake. Almost brownie-like without the sickening sweetness of a brownie. For Christmas I baked this cake, then layed mini peppermint patties and milk chocolate chips on top right out of the oven. After a few minutes they were melted and I spread them around the top for a marbled mint chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
Wow, this was actually really horrible. I made it while my baby was napping to try and satisfy a chocolate craving and I am so sad. It is not good at all. Practically no taste at all... Too bad...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
We are a chocolate loving family but did not like this cake...it had a weird after taste. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knkkl458

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Great Recipe! Easy and Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States