Easy Chocolate Butterscotch Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I made these last night just because I wanted something butterscotch and I love chocolate. The cookies were great -- very, very rich and soft. My brother loved them. And, I would've pigged out on them with a glass of milk if I weren't dieting. So, I'm giving 5 stars for the finished product. I have to say that the cookie dough was kind of gross -- way, way too oily. I was wringing the oil out as I rolled them. I have a couple of cake mix cookbooks and many of the recipes require 1/3 c. oil, 2 eggs, the cake mix, and whatever. Next time, I may cut back on the oil a little bit and see if the cookies still turn out as good. Also, I baked the cookies on parchment paper which may have helped in soaking up some of the excess oil during baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This is a great recipe, I've been using it since I was little. I use it so many different ways. Yellow Cake mix with Chocolate Chips is the most common. Any cake mix with any bag of chips or candies works great. People rave about them whenever I make them. My boyfriends favorite is the chocolate with butterscotch but my roomates is Lemon cake with white chocolate chips. The possibilities are endless. I'm glad to see other people using it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
This was a very easy recipe. I tried the lemon with white chocolate chips and it was very good. Instead of the 1/2 of oil, I melted a half of a stick of butter in 1/2 cup measuring cup and filled the rest with applesauce. The cookies were still delicious with a little less fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
I stumbled upon this looking for something sweet one night. I had a few things for each recipe that I saw and this seemed to be quick and easy and had the right combination of ingredients that I needed to use.They were a huge hit with everyone who tried them! I keep the ingredients on hand now just in case I need a quick fix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
These are the easiest cookies to make and you can replace the chips with Skor pieces or any other flavour of chips. Best last minute recipe too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Tried these last night but had no butterscotch chips. Used Reese's peanut butter pieces and they are wonderful. My kids absolutely love them although they are a bit too sweet for my taste. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Very good. Has the consistency of a brownie, only in a cookie. Next time I'll try them with yellow cake mix and maybe a combo of peanut butter chips and chocolate chips. This is a very versatile recipe, just change your flavor of cake mix and add what ever kind of chips you want. It's a keeper! (I did have to add just a splash of water when mixing.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
Great recipe!!! I have tried several variations of cake mixes and chips and candy. They all turned out great! I especially liked the lemon cake with white chocolate chips. Just ask someone special what their favorite cookie is and you can come up with a special recipe just for them..they are impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I love these! Super easy! Very unique cookies! If you've never used butterscotch chips, try this recipe and give 'em a whirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
I can't bake but even I can make these and they turned out great. I used olive oil and 1 1/2 cups butterscotch morsels which was more than enough for me. I may even cut back on the morsels next time. They puff up alot and may burn a bit on the bottom if you make your tablespoons too big. I ended up using slightly rounded 1/2 tablespoons and it worked out fine. They firm up nice as they cool so don't leave them in longer than 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Goodchild

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States