Easy Chocolate Butterscotch Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I made these last night just because I wanted something butterscotch and I love chocolate. The cookies were great -- very, very rich and soft. My brother loved them. And, I would've pigged out on them with a glass of milk if I weren't dieting. So, I'm giving 5 stars for the finished product. I have to say that the cookie dough was kind of gross -- way, way too oily. I was wringing the oil out as I rolled them. I have a couple of cake mix cookbooks and many of the recipes require 1/3 c. oil, 2 eggs, the cake mix, and whatever. Next time, I may cut back on the oil a little bit and see if the cookies still turn out as good. Also, I baked the cookies on parchment paper which may have helped in soaking up some of the excess oil during baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This is a great recipe, I've been using it since I was little. I use it so many different ways. Yellow Cake mix with Chocolate Chips is the most common. Any cake mix with any bag of chips or candies works great. People rave about them whenever I make them. My boyfriends favorite is the chocolate with butterscotch but my roomates is Lemon cake with white chocolate chips. The possibilities are endless. I'm glad to see other people using it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
I agree these cookies are easy to make. However, they are very rich. The cake mix and butterscotch chips don't mix well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
VERY quick and easy, however I suggest using 1/2 the chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
This was a very easy recipe. I tried the lemon with white chocolate chips and it was very good. Instead of the 1/2 of oil, I melted a half of a stick of butter in 1/2 cup measuring cup and filled the rest with applesauce. The cookies were still delicious with a little less fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
These were pretty good, a little sweet for my taste but still yummy! I think 2 cups of buttersctoch was a bit much though; I ended up using a whole bag of the chip. Next time I think I'll just use 1 cup. :) They turned out a bit hard but that's my own fault. I couldn't really tell if they had cooked enough because they were chocolate, so I'll cut the cooking time a bit when I make these again. These seem like they would also be good with peanut butter chips. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
I made the cookies with lemon cake mix and white choc chips. They need to be pretty small balls of dough because they bake up pretty large. Also, I didn't need near as many chips. But, overall, pretty good! I can't wait to try choc cake w/ pb chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This recipe is amazing for a 4-ingredient cookie! I modified it by adding 1 1/2 tsp. peppermint extract and substituting chocolate chips for the butterscotch chips. A real keeper! Next time I make it, however, I will cut the chips down to 1 1/2 cups as the dough was a bit "unwieldy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Wow! This was so easy and delicious. I made them for my daughters piano recital reception. I didn't change a thing and they were wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
great, super easy recipe!! I made a batch for our spring break road trip, hoping they would last, but they were gone before we reached our destination. The kids claimed "they were just so good!" when asked where the cookies were!! Thanks!! Next time I'll try the lemon and white chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States