Easy Chocolate Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
This is a great cake, very moist and dense. I didn't have a cake mix on hand, so I just found a recipe for a white cake in a cookbook and combined the dry ingredients, then added everything from this recipe. The dry ingredients I added were 2 cups all purpose flour, 1 1/3 cup sugar, 1 tsp salt and 3 1/2 tsp baking powder. Turned out fabulous! Highly recommend it, with or without frosting. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
This recipe is awesome! I made the cake for my husband for his birthday/Father's Day and he loved it! I went ahead and used the white cake mix, I used 4 small bananas and that was perfect..and I put dark chocolate frosting in the middle of the layers (2 8" pans), on top, and all over, and sprinkled the powdered sugar on top. Thank you for the the easiest, most delicious cake ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Excellent. As another reviewer, I used a devil's food cake mix, a little less cocoa and 4 small bananas. Very moist with just a hint of banana. Do not think frosting is necessary - just a sprinkling of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
Made this cake for bday party. The adults ranted and raved over it! One person said it was the best cake they ever had. Even the ones who passed on it, HAD to try it b/c of all the raving over it. Not a single kid disliked it (it's cake, for crying out loud). I made it into a 2 layer. I should have doubled the recipe then. I frosted it with whipped vanilla. The frosting was overwhelming. From my experience, I would definitely follow Harriet's recommendation about sprinkling it with powdered sugar. And leaving it as a sheet cake. It's the perfect amount of cocoa and the chips add a nice surprise for a cake. I meant to add an extra half of a banana, but forgot. I recommend more banana in the recipe. It IS a very yummy cake! Thanks for submitting it. It made for a memorable cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMBLEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This is fantastic! After reading other reviews I decided to make a few changes and used Devil's Food cake mix and 3 and a half bananas to bring out that real banana flavour. I had to almost double the baking time, but when it was done it turned out dense, moist, and so delicious! I made this as a birthday cake for a family of chefs who said that this was their favourite cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
This is delightful. I used yellow butter cake mix because its what i had on hand and i used jumbo chocolate chips. Goes great with Whip cream cream cheese frosting from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
I omitted the cocoa and added peanut butter chips. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natashap620

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
good cake!!!!- heavy and chocolaty with nice flavor added thanks to bananas (i used two). it wasn't how i thought it would look, but it tasted fine! i just ate about 1/3 of the cake..will have to head to the gym shortly..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
MAKE THIS CAKE!! This is awesome, I love it. I had 2 bananas so I put them both in. We just served it with cool whip, no icing. Seriously...it's delicious, moist, and substantial. So make it. I'm not kidding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I recently made this cake for a dinner party...it was a success. I omitted the cocoa powder and did end up frosting it with a whipped butter cream frosting. We really liked the subtle banana flavor...not too overpowering, which we happen to like. I think I will probably make this cake again and again, trying different flavors of cake mix each time. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sellsie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States