Easy Chocolate Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
Made this cake for bday party. The adults ranted and raved over it! One person said it was the best cake they ever had. Even the ones who passed on it, HAD to try it b/c of all the raving over it. Not a single kid disliked it (it's cake, for crying out loud). I made it into a 2 layer. I should have doubled the recipe then. I frosted it with whipped vanilla. The frosting was overwhelming. From my experience, I would definitely follow Harriet's recommendation about sprinkling it with powdered sugar. And leaving it as a sheet cake. It's the perfect amount of cocoa and the chips add a nice surprise for a cake. I meant to add an extra half of a banana, but forgot. I recommend more banana in the recipe. It IS a very yummy cake! Thanks for submitting it. It made for a memorable cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMBLEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
This is a great cake, very moist and dense. I didn't have a cake mix on hand, so I just found a recipe for a white cake in a cookbook and combined the dry ingredients, then added everything from this recipe. The dry ingredients I added were 2 cups all purpose flour, 1 1/3 cup sugar, 1 tsp salt and 3 1/2 tsp baking powder. Turned out fabulous! Highly recommend it, with or without frosting. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I've been making this for a long time. Only difference is I add three bananas and use Pillsbury Devil's Food cake mix. It really is moist. Even better with fresh whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This is fantastic! After reading other reviews I decided to make a few changes and used Devil's Food cake mix and 3 and a half bananas to bring out that real banana flavour. I had to almost double the baking time, but when it was done it turned out dense, moist, and so delicious! I made this as a birthday cake for a family of chefs who said that this was their favourite cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Great base recipe. I used a Devil's Food cake mix and 2 over-ripe bananas. I left out the chocolate chips (I didn't have any on hand). I baked two 9 inch round cakes and made a layered cake with chocolate frosting. It made a delightful birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Excellent. As another reviewer, I used a devil's food cake mix, a little less cocoa and 4 small bananas. Very moist with just a hint of banana. Do not think frosting is necessary - just a sprinkling of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
This was very disappointing. Could not taste the bananas, even though I used 2. And even though I wondered why you would use a white cake mix and then add cocoa instead of just using a chocolate cake mix in the first place, I was scared to deviate from the recipe so I did it. But since I ended up with what is basically a plain chocolate cake, I think I would have been better off using a choc. cake mix to begin with - - at least then it would have been a rich, dark color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
This is delightful. I used yellow butter cake mix because its what i had on hand and i used jumbo chocolate chips. Goes great with Whip cream cream cheese frosting from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2004
Not being the best cake maker in the world, I found this easy and successful. I used a coffee/chocolate icing and it was lovely, especially the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I am definitely using this for my daughters "Monkey" birthday. I used the devils food chocolate cake mix and 3 bananas. One in that much chocolate would have been lost. If you are not tasting banana at all, your bananas are too ripe. The blacker the better in baking. I keep my rotted bananas in the freezer for just such an occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States