Easy Chocolate Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
This was very disappointing. Could not taste the bananas, even though I used 2. And even though I wondered why you would use a white cake mix and then add cocoa instead of just using a chocolate cake mix in the first place, I was scared to deviate from the recipe so I did it. But since I ended up with what is basically a plain chocolate cake, I think I would have been better off using a choc. cake mix to begin with - - at least then it would have been a rich, dark color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
it was ok. not enough banana flavor, cocoa was overwhelming. i think it needs frosting, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
I omitted the cocoa and added peanut butter chips. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natashap620

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
MAKE THIS CAKE!! This is awesome, I love it. I had 2 bananas so I put them both in. We just served it with cool whip, no icing. Seriously...it's delicious, moist, and substantial. So make it. I'm not kidding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
good cake!!!!- heavy and chocolaty with nice flavor added thanks to bananas (i used two). it wasn't how i thought it would look, but it tasted fine! i just ate about 1/3 of the cake..will have to head to the gym shortly..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Nice light cake. I didn't have any sour cream, so substituted vanilla yogurt. To cut down the fat, I used half oil and half applesauce and had a ton of frozen bananas so used two in this recipe. Worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2004
Not being the best cake maker in the world, I found this easy and successful. I used a coffee/chocolate icing and it was lovely, especially the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
This is a great cake, very moist and dense. I didn't have a cake mix on hand, so I just found a recipe for a white cake in a cookbook and combined the dry ingredients, then added everything from this recipe. The dry ingredients I added were 2 cups all purpose flour, 1 1/3 cup sugar, 1 tsp salt and 3 1/2 tsp baking powder. Turned out fabulous! Highly recommend it, with or without frosting. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
This is delightful. I used yellow butter cake mix because its what i had on hand and i used jumbo chocolate chips. Goes great with Whip cream cream cheese frosting from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
Made this cake for bday party. The adults ranted and raved over it! One person said it was the best cake they ever had. Even the ones who passed on it, HAD to try it b/c of all the raving over it. Not a single kid disliked it (it's cake, for crying out loud). I made it into a 2 layer. I should have doubled the recipe then. I frosted it with whipped vanilla. The frosting was overwhelming. From my experience, I would definitely follow Harriet's recommendation about sprinkling it with powdered sugar. And leaving it as a sheet cake. It's the perfect amount of cocoa and the chips add a nice surprise for a cake. I meant to add an extra half of a banana, but forgot. I recommend more banana in the recipe. It IS a very yummy cake! Thanks for submitting it. It made for a memorable cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMBLEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States