Easy Chocolate Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Great base recipe. I used a Devil's Food cake mix and 2 over-ripe bananas. I left out the chocolate chips (I didn't have any on hand). I baked two 9 inch round cakes and made a layered cake with chocolate frosting. It made a delightful birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Excellent. As another reviewer, I used a devil's food cake mix, a little less cocoa and 4 small bananas. Very moist with just a hint of banana. Do not think frosting is necessary - just a sprinkling of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
This recipe is awesome! I made the cake for my husband for his birthday/Father's Day and he loved it! I went ahead and used the white cake mix, I used 4 small bananas and that was perfect..and I put dark chocolate frosting in the middle of the layers (2 8" pans), on top, and all over, and sprinkled the powdered sugar on top. Thank you for the the easiest, most delicious cake ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Used pineapple cakemix; 2 bananas; 1 cup chocolate chips and light sour cream. Interesting texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I've been making this for a long time. Only difference is I add three bananas and use Pillsbury Devil's Food cake mix. It really is moist. Even better with fresh whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
The cake is pretty good. I followed the recipe, but why not just use a chocolate cake mix instead? I didn't get the rich chocolate flavour by adding the cocoa powder to the white mix but it was still good. As for 'one' banana, well I used one cup as I would for any of my banana recipes and it turned out really well. The end result was a super moist banana /chocolate cake! THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I recently made this cake for a dinner party...it was a success. I omitted the cocoa powder and did end up frosting it with a whipped butter cream frosting. We really liked the subtle banana flavor...not too overpowering, which we happen to like. I think I will probably make this cake again and again, trying different flavors of cake mix each time. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sellsie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
My family did not like this cake at all. I added 3 bananas instead of one to make the banana flavor stronger and I still couldn't taste it. The cocoa was way to overpowering. I would reduce it by at least half. The cook time was off too. I cooked it for the time listed and it was barely set. Sorry, this one's not a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
With a few modifications, they were delicious. I used 2 bananas, left out the cocoa and used 1.5 cups of semi-sweet chocolate chips instead. I also made them into cupcakes (baked for 18 mins) and frosted them with a butter, milk, vanilla and powdered sugar frosting. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
Extremely dry...would not make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keryn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loretto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States