Easy Chocolate Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This was delicious! I used a little more banana and also added 1tbsp of powdered peanut butter to the recipe. I made cupcakes and baked the full size 18min and mini 15. They turned out amazing without anything at all on them but I made peanut butter frosting for them and they were even more amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This is a good easy moist cake, but it has little to no banana taste. I followed the directions for the most part, except I did sub plain greek yogurt for the sour cream because I had it on hand and I used two ripe bananas based on the reviews that said it was lacking much banana taste. It has a really good chocolate flavor and stays moist for days which is a plus. I'd make it again but not with the expectation of a strong banana flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colbert, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I've made this twice -- the first time as directed. It was good, but not great. The second time I made it I did not have 8 oz. of sour cream. I used 4 oz. sour cream and 4 oz. cream cheese, mixed with a little extra milk. Most important, I frosted it with a simple white butter cream frosting. I think the frosting made the difference -- really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I made this for my daughters' birthday party. It was a huge hit and very moist. I used devils food cake and omitted the cocoa. Low fat sour cream worked well too. I used two bananas. Make sure the bananas are super ripe, brown and disgusting works the best! I made a whipped cream with cream cheese frosting recipe because I needed to decorate the cake. It turned out great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Reba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I am definitely using this for my daughters "Monkey" birthday. I used the devils food chocolate cake mix and 3 bananas. One in that much chocolate would have been lost. If you are not tasting banana at all, your bananas are too ripe. The blacker the better in baking. I keep my rotted bananas in the freezer for just such an occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Like others, I decided to just start with a chocolate cake mix. I also subbed applesauce for 1/2 of the oil and skipped the chocolate chips. Used 2 bananas and made into cupcakes that I frosted with the banana cream frosting from this site. The cake was okay by itself - the frosting made it much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
i made this for mothers day and there wasnt a slice left. my family loved it and thats saying a lot since they r cooks at their own restuarant. it was recommended as a must at our next holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This is yummy. I used a german cho. cake and omitted the cocoa. Used mini semi sweet chips. I did add a little frosting though ~ I melted 4 oz of german's sweet chocholate with 1/3 cup cream, added 2 T. butter and 1/2 tsp vanilla, beat it by hand and poured it over a yet warm cake. It has a wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I took someone's earlier advice and created the cake mix myself. I also added 1/2 cup of sweetened coconut flakes. I also added two bananas instead of just one because it seemed like it needed more moisture. It was fantastic and a big hit at lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This is fantastic! After reading other reviews I decided to make a few changes and used Devil's Food cake mix and 3 and a half bananas to bring out that real banana flavour. I had to almost double the baking time, but when it was done it turned out dense, moist, and so delicious! I made this as a birthday cake for a family of chefs who said that this was their favourite cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States