Easy Chinese Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This soup is a great base recipe. My husband said it tastes better than the Chinese restaurant versions. I followed the recipe ingredients and also added 1.5 cups of frozen corn, an extra egg, and I garnished it with green onion and 1/4 teaspoon of sesame oil. It was so easy and so good. I will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I doubled this recipe and served it garnished with chopped green onions and freshly ground black pepper. Both were needed although some preferred it on the bland side. I would make this again and in addition to doubling the recipe, I would add a can of regular corn (drained) for more substance...or double the recipe and use only 1 can chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
easy, filling, took the advice of the other reviewers and added sesame oil and green onion- loved it, will make this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Great basic corn and egg swirl soup. I like it with sliced mushrooms added, or with a few drops of sesame oil and green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanaMustEat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Found, tried and tested this recipe late tonight... I will be using this many more times... and sharing it with lots of people. This soup doesn't need to be complicated, this keeps it simple and tasty. FAB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I've made this soup several times. I fell in love with this type of soup (both corn and egg) when I was a child, but now that I'm grown it seems like all I can find when we go out is plain egg drop soup (no corn). I add a little bit of ginger from a tube. I don't normally like ginger, but I think a little makes a big difference. If I'm fighting a cold, I'll add more ginger. :-) Sometimes I'll add a wee bit of reduced sodium soy sauce, or a little hon dashi, depending on my mood. Thanks for the recipe -- we'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Very good! I used chicken bullion cubes for the broth and added two eggs instead of one. I think one would have been enough; but two is good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I am surprised about how good this soup is with such basic ingredients. I, too, added some sesame oil and rice wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
PERFECT!!! Wouldn't change a word of this recipe! I garnished with green onion and mmmmmmmmmmm....SO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarron Fabbricino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
We always ate this growing up, but my mom made it with 1 can creamed corn, 1 can kernel corn drained, 1/2 can water, ham and a two eggs. This got me through college! Thanks mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States