Easy Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2000
It's the best Chili I have ever had and if you kind of makeup and add your own things as you go along it's even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
Excellent Recipe, here are my modifications: - used Veg Ground Round instead of text veg protein - added a little white wine and only 2 cups of water, not 4 - 2 cans of kidney beans used - 2 cloves of garlic only. I put everything in a crockpot (sauteed garlic, onions & celery first) and left it on low all day until supper. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Wow! This is good! I made some changes though: took the advice of some other reviewers and added a cup less water. I also used kidney beans as I couldn't find chili beans. I added a little white wine as someone else suggested. I added a bit more chili powder and a little cumin. I used turbinado sugar instead of brown sugar. I used petite diced tomatoes instead of stewed. Thanks for the recipe. I have faith in my ability to cook with TVP now. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
I was expecting this to be a thicker chili, not so watery. My husband LOVED it and calls it bean soup rather than chili. The next time I make it I might try a little less liquid. I also used it without the textured protein because I couldn't find it in the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
I halved the recipe, adding about a teaspoon of minced garlic, substituting one can of kidney beans for a can of chili beans, and adding about a cup of TVP, dry. My roommates and family absolutely loved it! I think it's my favorite chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This was a great dish. The children loved it as well as the hubby!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I like to flavor my TVP, we also like to add various pepper powders and cilantro of course. I also use chili tomatoes, not stewed and usually add much more cumin and chili powder to taste and throw in some hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This recipe was a great jumping off point for chili to feed a hungry potluck croud. I omited the celery (seeing as I didn't have any on hand). Due to another review, I cut down on the water by one cup. Then, when I doubled the recipe - I didn't have enough chili beans, so I substituted some kidney beans (drained) instead. I wanted my chili meaty, so I substituted about a pound and a half of browned ground beef for the second cup of TVP. The result was delicious. I am sure that it would be equally tasty made accoring to the recipe - but I would hold off on part of the water, and see how thick you want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mer in the Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troutdale, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
There was no flavor at the end after following recipe to the T. Except I used ground beef which should make it better. It tasted like campbells bean and bacon soup... didnt' taste like chili at all, it was soupy, I even excluded the 1 cup of water as reviewers said and still consistency of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GeenaDavisRules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States