Easy Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I am giving this five stars due to the work vs. reward. Sure, there are better chili recipes out there, but they also call for tons of ingredients, more work and lots of simmering. If it's quick, satisfying and tasty that you're looking for, this is great; it's cheap to make, too. I made mine with Johnsonville Italian sausage this time, but it's great with ground beef too. Also, try using different types of diced tomatoes, such as the ones with green chilis. I like mine with cheese and crushed-up saltines. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I think this is a great base recipe. I have used this with several substitutes based on what I had on hand. I've used with a bottom round cubed up very small when I didn't have ground hamburger. I used green chiles when I didn't have green pepper. Very versatile very flexible. I just toss it all in the slow cooker for about 4-5 hours on high. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This is really close to how my mom always made chili when I was growing up. She kept things simple and sometimes simplicity is best. I used 2 cans of hot chili beans, undrained, with two large cans of crushed tomatoes, undrained. I added a packet of chili seasoning mix and left out the green pepper. The canned chili beans come in chili juice so I think it would be fine without the seasoning packet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Used the suggestions of some of the other reviewers and added spices and instead of just regular diced tomatoes I got diced tomatoes with chilies. Also added black beans as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsdohpaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I wasn't able to find canned chili beans at my grocery store, so I just used a canned bean mix and chili powder. It turned out great, and I am able to make it as spicy or mild as we want. I also found that it was still too runny in the cook time given, so it either needs to be left on longer to reduce, or the canned tomatoes need to be drained a little first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Instead of chili beans I used kidney beans. I had to add the following ingredients to give the chili more flavor. Salt, cumin, cilantro, chili powder, bay leaf, garlic and some dry red wine. This helped to make it a delicious mild type of chili. I served it over polenta with shredded sharp cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
The last review must have forgoten about the "chili beans". Chili beans come complete with chili flavored liquid. I think she might have boo boo'd on the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nevada, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
VERY very bland chili (Of course this could be guessed just by looking at the list of ingredients) If you want this to taste anything like what you would expect out of chili, be prepared to add 3 tbsp. Chili Powder, oregano and cumin, maybe some diced jalapenos, and cayenne pepper to taste. This just tasted like beef and beans with tomato flavor (wait...thats pretty much what it is!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandmom26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: West Yarmouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Easy Chili I

Watch how easy it is to make a hearty chili in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States