Easy Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
I did not add the jalapeno's ( HOT hot is not for me). This is a great recipe if you like a not-too-spicy chili. If you are looking for a three alarm chili or one that drains your sinuses, this is not it. Without jalapenos, it's got just enough spice and "kick" without having to drink 10 glasses of water to cool off. Good flavor, good consistency. I've now made it three times and everyone has loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
380 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I have tried many different chili recipes and this one is our family's favorite! We did NOT omit the jalapenos and it is not that spicy! My 3-year-old eats it. I adjust nothing and make it as the recipe indicates every time and its fantastic. Leftovers freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
290 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieKS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
Nice easy chili, this is almost the same chili that I grew up on (with the exemption of the jalapenos). I used 1 tbsp of cumin, 1/2 tsp of oregano and 2 cloves of garlic, although it coulda used 3. I seeded the jalapeno and didn't find it that hot, so next time I will just chop up the whole thing and add maybe 3 tbsp. of chili powder (the way mom used to). As with all sauces & chili make sure that you adjust the seasonings before serving. (I am full from all the taste testing, so I had to skip dinner tonight, tomorrows lunch for me). Thanks for the easy recipe Danielle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I love this chili! I like it thicker and add two cans of tomatoes instead of one, two cans of chili beans and two cans of kidney beans. I do not adjust anything else and it turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Great chili! Try browning the meat in Guiness, it really brings out the flavor in the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
Ahh, finally! I never could get the ingredients correct when doing chili on my own w/out a package. I left out the jalapenos for the kids sakes. I added 3 TBS chili powder, 3 cloves of garlic, 1/2 TBS of cumin, 1/2 TBS of oregano, and a can of tomatoes instead of the sauce (only because I didn't have sauce on hand). I also cooked up my own pinto beans because I didn't have any red or pinto canned. Even if I didn't use the recipe to a T it gave me a base from which to build from. I'll make sure and try it the recipe way next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
I've never made chili before, and searched tons of recipes. Found this one, and SO GLAD I DID. I did end up adding more chili powder, but that was the only change. I loved that is was spicy, but not unbearable. Delicious, can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2001
This chili was very tasty and easy, but not as spicy as I expected it to be. After browning the meat, onion, & peppers, I transferred to a slow cooker, added the rest of the ingredients, and cooked for approximately 4 hours on high. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I have made this Chili once and it was very good! It freezes well! This week I was ill and my children defrosted a freezer bag of this chili for dinner and a neighbor came over to see how I was doing and had a bowl of it with the kids and asked me for the recipe! I did leave out the Bay leaf and the Jalapenos and replaced the diced tomatoes with stewed tomatoes (because I already had a can in the cupboard). I think the next time I make it I will try mixing in some ready made chili spice that i have seen at the store...But that is just the experimenter in me. The recipe is great as is! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nahni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Photo by Delgado Fam.
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Chili was a 5!!! definately an easy and quick to make recipe..Hubby loved it..The taste was so good, if you like Wendy's chili this one is better! So happy i found this recipe, Thank you! I made it exactly like recipe indicated and loved it, however i will add a second can of chili beans next time. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delgado Fam.

Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Easy Chili I

Watch how easy it is to make a hearty chili in this video.

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States