Easy Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I thought this was pretty good if you really have a craving for Indian. I did cut some calories by using light coconut milk and light sour cream. Served with jasmine rice. It was pretty easy to prepare, although there were a lot of ingredients - I would recommend measuring and putting all the spices together before starting to cook the onions. Overall it was tasty, but I didn't find it exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was a HUGE hit at my last dinner party. I would give this 5 stars except I changed the recipe a bit. I left out the last 5 ingredients and it turned out great. I just couldn't add ketchup and sour cream, and didn't need the milk, bouillon or ground almonds. As others suggested I also used light coconut milk, and cooked it much longer than indicated to get my potatoes to cook through. I used new potatoes, and needed to add about 15 minutes to the cook time. Squeeze some lime juice over just before serving. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Jackson Reeser

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I have been making curry almost weekly for quite some time now. For some reason, I got a bug to try a new recipe and this is one that popped up. I chose it because of its use of garam masala and turmeric - true flavors of India. My family eats a gluten and casein (dairy) free diet so I did make some changes. My replacements were as follows: butter - Earth Balance soy-free milk - DariFree milk replacer sour cream - Tofutti Better Than Sour Cream chicken bouillon - Gluten free all-natural chicken flavor concentrate I also only had one regular potato so I used it and a sweet potato, as sweet potatoes are what I typically use in my curry. I did not add the ground almonds because I didn't feel it needed thickening. Others mentioned they did not add the ketchup. I did but didn't really taste what difference it made. The taste of this was about four stars. I almost gave this three stars because I felt the recipe called for a lot of ingredients - not to mention, ingredients not typically used in curry but I felt that it is not the fault of recipe provider that I'm spoiled by another recipe that has less ingredients. The recipe I normally use packs a much more flavorful punch and this one left me feeling that it was good but needed something. Maybe lemon juice?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
loved this curry. i left out the last 5 ingredients and it turned out yummy. i used full fat coconut milk (coconut fat is good for you) and red potatoes. the only problem was even on low heat w/ the lid on, it stuck a little on the bottom, but not enough to effect the dish. next time i will add chopped cilantro and green tomato chutney and naan bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellabirthing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewistown, Montana, USA
Living In: Belgrade, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Fabulous recipe. I adjusted the spices for our tastes, used chopped fresh cauliflower instead of potatoes, left out the milk, sour cream and almonds. Served with naan bread. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaybee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salford, Lancashire, England, U.K.
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
yum! i didn't add tomato or almonds, it was still delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Loved this! I scaled my recipe back to 2 servings as I only had a half can of lite coconut milk to use up. I used several mini potatoes as they were all I had on hand, and I cooked them ahead in the microwave for a couple of minutes based on others comments - perfect! I also left out the ground almonds and cubes of bouillon - the almonds I did not have, and the bouillon cubes I do not use, but figured they would just add a ton of sodium anyway! Fantastic...next time will make it to serve over basmati as I only ate it as a side dish to my chicken!! Super yummy, will make again for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Delicious and a great base for your own versions of curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Absolutely delicious. I didn't add any sour cream, as I didn't have any, but it tasted wonderful without it. Even my pulse-hating 13 year old son came back for second helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States