Easy Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Incredible...even my 9 year old loved it! I didn't have chickpeas so I used 2 more potatoes but other than that I followed the recipe to the T. It just doesn't get any better. The potatoes melt in your mouth...the spice is heaven for your senses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
loved this curry. i left out the last 5 ingredients and it turned out yummy. i used full fat coconut milk (coconut fat is good for you) and red potatoes. the only problem was even on low heat w/ the lid on, it stuck a little on the bottom, but not enough to effect the dish. next time i will add chopped cilantro and green tomato chutney and naan bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellabirthing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewistown, Montana, USA
Living In: Belgrade, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Absolutely delicious. I didn't add any sour cream, as I didn't have any, but it tasted wonderful without it. Even my pulse-hating 13 year old son came back for second helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Super yummy! The paprika and sugar are a joke...unecessary (as well as tumeric). Coconut milk is sweet enough in this...in fact I had to add more ketchup (instead of tomato sauce) and more curry and garam masala. I also sauteed the potatoes with the seaonings step to coat them, before putting in liquids. I don't know if that helped or not...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was really good and very simple. I quadrupled this recipe to make it for a group of about 15 people. I didn't add the milk or ketchup. I also used the seasoning All Spice instead of the Garam Masala. Since I was using four cans of coconut milk, I substituted one with a can of lite coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Delicious and a great base for your own versions of curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
yum! i didn't add tomato or almonds, it was still delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Love it!! I've made it 2x and now it'll become a frequent meal in our home. I can't see the ketchup working so I didn't use it, I wanted it to keep it as lean as possible so I also omitted the sour cream. I didn't have garam masala but I just upped the other spices and it still was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Loved this! I scaled my recipe back to 2 servings as I only had a half can of lite coconut milk to use up. I used several mini potatoes as they were all I had on hand, and I cooked them ahead in the microwave for a couple of minutes based on others comments - perfect! I also left out the ground almonds and cubes of bouillon - the almonds I did not have, and the bouillon cubes I do not use, but figured they would just add a ton of sodium anyway! Fantastic...next time will make it to serve over basmati as I only ate it as a side dish to my chicken!! Super yummy, will make again for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States