Easy Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Super yummy! The paprika and sugar are a joke...unecessary (as well as tumeric). Coconut milk is sweet enough in this...in fact I had to add more ketchup (instead of tomato sauce) and more curry and garam masala. I also sauteed the potatoes with the seaonings step to coat them, before putting in liquids. I don't know if that helped or not...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was really good and very simple. I quadrupled this recipe to make it for a group of about 15 people. I didn't add the milk or ketchup. I also used the seasoning All Spice instead of the Garam Masala. Since I was using four cans of coconut milk, I substituted one with a can of lite coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Incredible...even my 9 year old loved it! I didn't have chickpeas so I used 2 more potatoes but other than that I followed the recipe to the T. It just doesn't get any better. The potatoes melt in your mouth...the spice is heaven for your senses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I have been making curry almost weekly for quite some time now. For some reason, I got a bug to try a new recipe and this is one that popped up. I chose it because of its use of garam masala and turmeric - true flavors of India. My family eats a gluten and casein (dairy) free diet so I did make some changes. My replacements were as follows: butter - Earth Balance soy-free milk - DariFree milk replacer sour cream - Tofutti Better Than Sour Cream chicken bouillon - Gluten free all-natural chicken flavor concentrate I also only had one regular potato so I used it and a sweet potato, as sweet potatoes are what I typically use in my curry. I did not add the ground almonds because I didn't feel it needed thickening. Others mentioned they did not add the ketchup. I did but didn't really taste what difference it made. The taste of this was about four stars. I almost gave this three stars because I felt the recipe called for a lot of ingredients - not to mention, ingredients not typically used in curry but I felt that it is not the fault of recipe provider that I'm spoiled by another recipe that has less ingredients. The recipe I normally use packs a much more flavorful punch and this one left me feeling that it was good but needed something. Maybe lemon juice?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was a HUGE hit at my last dinner party. I would give this 5 stars except I changed the recipe a bit. I left out the last 5 ingredients and it turned out great. I just couldn't add ketchup and sour cream, and didn't need the milk, bouillon or ground almonds. As others suggested I also used light coconut milk, and cooked it much longer than indicated to get my potatoes to cook through. I used new potatoes, and needed to add about 15 minutes to the cook time. Squeeze some lime juice over just before serving. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BREESERFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Made just as described. Really nice taste. It did take longer for my potatoes to get soft...but it was worth the wait. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSHERI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This was so yummy and easy! I don't really measure but did take proportions of spices into account (i.e., more garam masala than sugar and salt). Some specifics: I only used 1 bullion cube; used ~5 garlic cloves; only had 1/2 a tomato so added a can of diced. Mine had to simmer much longer before the potatoes and [soaked dry] chickpeas became tender. Wish I had had some fresh cilantro for garnish! Served with naan instead of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I thought this was pretty good if you really have a craving for Indian. I did cut some calories by using light coconut milk and light sour cream. Served with jasmine rice. It was pretty easy to prepare, although there were a lot of ingredients - I would recommend measuring and putting all the spices together before starting to cook the onions. Overall it was tasty, but I didn't find it exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States