Easy Chicken and Rice with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Tastes much better then it looks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ColleenK
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Great classic chicken and rice meal. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Really Great Hearty recipe. If you are looking for something fancy, this is not it. If you are looking for a great homemade meal for the whole family, this is great! Exactly what I needed. Husband loved it! I suggest serving with colors because as pictured, its not very colorful. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
a little salty...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This was similar to an old recipie my mother used to make. I did add some sour cream and topped with paprika. Otherwise I followed as listed and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
i love this recipe and use it often, i do not use milk as i find the cream soups enough dairy and i use a can of chicken broth instead of water. i also salt and tenderize the chicken because it was a bit blan but the rice is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erick Sarah Marshall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I make this recipe also and have for years but in order to make it lower calories I use brown rice and low fat soups and cut out the dry onion soup mix and it is still great and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a3d1218

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I give this 4 stars for the "Easy" part. I thought that it was just OK. I'm not a big fan of recipes with cream soups but when you're short on time and you have hungry mouths to feed on a work night, this fits the bill! I made this exactly as written EXCEPT, I mixed the remainder of the Onion Soup Mix with the canned soups and milk. If I was to make this again, I would definitely use "low sodium" canned soups and only half of the package of Onion Soup Mix as it is extremely salty. If you like salty foods, you will like this. My boys, 12 yrs & 7 yrs old thought it was pretty good. My husband ate it and thought it was "good", but they were not saying WOW! This is a good dish to prepare when you are short on time for YOUR family. I wouldn't make this for "SPECIAL" guests. I served fresh brussel sprouts on the side as my family loves them. This can be served with just about any fresh veggie, green beans, aspargus, brussel sprouts, or just a dinner salad. Thanks for the EASY recipe when you are short on time!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie'sKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This is a really good, comfort food type recipe. It's not fancy, but is definitely a tasty, easy recipe using ingredients that I keep around the kitchen. I will be keeping this recipe on hand and making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
It was easy, but I was afraid it wouldn't have a lot of flavor, so I made a few changes. I cooked the rice in chicken broth instead of water. I sauteed the mushrooms in olive oil with an onion and some garlic. I didn't have cream of mushroom, but I had sour cream, so I used that instead. I mixed the cream of chicken, milk, and sour cream. Then stirred the rice in, then the mushroom mixture. I poured half in an oven dish, layered the chicken, then poured the rest on. Then topped with crushed ritz. Pretty good that way. My only big change would be to cut up the chicken and mix that in and just pour it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasant Hill, California, USA
Living In: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States