Easy Chicken and Rice with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Nothing special and needed major seasoning. Such a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Bush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bullard, Texas, USA
Living In: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I made 2 servings or 1/2 of this recipe. I made 2 ingredient changes. Added 1 t. Better Than Bouillon organic reduced sodium chicken base to rice and water and added 1/2 c. of sour cream to soup and milk mixture. My construction is as follows. Mixed 1/2 of soup mixture and 1/2 of dry onion mixture into cooked rice. Mix well. Spray dish with non-stick spray and pour in rice mixture spreading evenly. Layer fresh mushroom slices evenly over top. I cut chicken breast into bite-size pieces and layered next. Pour remainder of soup/milk/sour cream mixture over top and spread evenly. Sprinkle remaining 1/2 of dry onion soup over top. Cover with foil. For my 1/2 recipe with chicken cut in bite-size pieces, I cooked in a 350 degree preheated oven for one hour. Removed foil and cooked 15 minutes longer. Added green beans as a side. Chose this recipe because I am recuperating and wanted something non-spicy, simple and easy. After making changes noted above I think the taste is great. The dry onion soup mix adds just the right amount of flavor to keep in from being too bland. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This is a really good, comfort food type recipe. It's not fancy, but is definitely a tasty, easy recipe using ingredients that I keep around the kitchen. I will be keeping this recipe on hand and making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
a little salty...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
It was easy, but I was afraid it wouldn't have a lot of flavor, so I made a few changes. I cooked the rice in chicken broth instead of water. I sauteed the mushrooms in olive oil with an onion and some garlic. I didn't have cream of mushroom, but I had sour cream, so I used that instead. I mixed the cream of chicken, milk, and sour cream. Then stirred the rice in, then the mushroom mixture. I poured half in an oven dish, layered the chicken, then poured the rest on. Then topped with crushed ritz. Pretty good that way. My only big change would be to cut up the chicken and mix that in and just pour it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasant Hill, California, USA
Living In: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
i love this recipe and use it often, i do not use milk as i find the cream soups enough dairy and i use a can of chicken broth instead of water. i also salt and tenderize the chicken because it was a bit blan but the rice is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erick Sarah Marshall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I give this 4 stars for the "Easy" part. I thought that it was just OK. I'm not a big fan of recipes with cream soups but when you're short on time and you have hungry mouths to feed on a work night, this fits the bill! I made this exactly as written EXCEPT, I mixed the remainder of the Onion Soup Mix with the canned soups and milk. If I was to make this again, I would definitely use "low sodium" canned soups and only half of the package of Onion Soup Mix as it is extremely salty. If you like salty foods, you will like this. My boys, 12 yrs & 7 yrs old thought it was pretty good. My husband ate it and thought it was "good", but they were not saying WOW! This is a good dish to prepare when you are short on time for YOUR family. I wouldn't make this for "SPECIAL" guests. I served fresh brussel sprouts on the side as my family loves them. This can be served with just about any fresh veggie, green beans, aspargus, brussel sprouts, or just a dinner salad. Thanks for the EASY recipe when you are short on time!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie'sKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This was similar to an old recipie my mother used to make. I did add some sour cream and topped with paprika. Otherwise I followed as listed and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Really Great Hearty recipe. If you are looking for something fancy, this is not it. If you are looking for a great homemade meal for the whole family, this is great! Exactly what I needed. Husband loved it! I suggest serving with colors because as pictured, its not very colorful. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ColleenK
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Great classic chicken and rice meal. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Chicken with Mushrooms

Breaded chicken breasts are baked with mushrooms and melty mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States