Easy Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jesbell
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
We added peas and corn to the recipe as well. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
LOVE!! I used Pioneer Mills baking mix and it was great! I added twice as many stalks of celery and it didn't take up as much room! I was a little iffy about "1 whole onion" but it blended well and wasn't at all too much! I did golf-ball sized dumplings, but they were HUGE. Don't mix around the soup once the dumplings are in; they'll fall apart. Put it on low heat too whenever you add the dumplings, otherwise you'll burn the bottom.(I did just a little). I didn't add the bay leaf. I added a bit more chicken too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherTAMU16

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Our family of 4 really liked this meal. I made some changes based on the reviews I read - added herbs before boiling, added frozen peas before dumplings, and added parsley, salt, and pepper to dumpling mix, and cooked the dumplings for 10 minutes with cover on and 10 minutes with cover off and towel on. Very easy and very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lstevenson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Very good and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoyinWA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suquamish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Made this for dinner tonight after I didn't have ingredients for what I'd planned on making. Boy, was I glad in the change of plans! My husband and my 6-year old son both loved it! I added the rosemary to the baking mixture and put poultry seasoning in the soup. It was excellent. As my son said, "Mom, this is a make-it-again recipe!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Wonderful! I used Progresso chicken broth for the spices and Pillsbury Grand biscuits cut into eighths to save time. Initially made because I have the same soup bowls as in the photo and came across the recipe when I was looking for comfort food.. NEVER expected it too be this good! Husband loved it. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Delicious! I too used canned biscuits instead of Bisquick. Also added a can of cream of chicken soup and some frozen mixed veggies. Super easy and quick - real comfort food !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Easy & delicious recipe. I only had 16 oz of chicken broth, so I added a can of water and a bouillon cube. I added parsley flakes & a little salt and pepper to the dumplings, as I always do. So easy & good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ijamsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This recipe is easy and delicious!!! It turned out fantastic. I made smaller dumplings however. The whole family loved it. It's very rare I have no leftovers, but it happened when I made this! Can't say enough about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KLFeeney
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I loved this recipe, but I made a few changes (and they worked out AWESOME!!). I had no idea what I was making for dinner until 10 minutes before I started. I used approximately 6-7 Tyson frozen chicken tenders (from a bag I bought on the cheap at BJ's). I used 4 cups of my own chicken stock that I made today from a leftover chicken (which I thickened at the end by mixing in approx a cup of water with a quarter cup of flour). I used celery, a half bag of baby carrots, a chopped red onion, about a cup of frozen peas and 2 bay leaves - I pulled out all the chicken and chopped it up about 15 minutes in. Then I added everything back into the pot and took out a 10 oz. package of Pillsbury refrigerated bread sticks which I laid on it's side and sliced into 8 pieces and then I cut all of those pieces in half (but I should have quartered them). I laid all the dough on top, put the lid on for 10 minutes and voila - everything turned out AWESOME and it took less than 35 minutes. It was unbelievably yummy! I would double or triple this recipe for a pot luck or apres ski crowd-pleaser any time. In the future (if I had a little more notice), I would make the biscuit /breadstick dough myself in the bread maker, but I would not use the bisquick as I am NOT a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLFeeney

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States