Easy Chicken Taquitos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I think this is an excellent basic recipe and an easy to go-to recipe for a quick fix meal/snack. Canned chicken is quite pricey. I usually use my rotisserie chicken (I love my rotisserie) and use my poached chicken recipe which is full of flavor. This recipe you can add to with seasonings, minced veggies, and garnishments to liven it up. For tortillas: Dampen 2 paper towels, and place tortillas between them. Microwave for about 1 minute, until tortillas are warm and pliable. Spray the taquito rolls lightly with Pam before baking. I love to serve taquitos on a bed of shredded lettuce and topped with salsa or tomatillo sauce. Red or green enchilada sauces also go well + the many garnishments one can use for a dinner. Taquitos are excellent as a snack as well. Pork and turkey make for excellent chicken substitutions in taquitos as well. If using as a snack, a dipping sauce (a few examples above) is quite nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I hate boiled chicken so I baked mine with salt and pepper) in my oven for 30 min at 400. When it was finished, I cut into cubes and mixed it with the hot sauce, some cumin, and a few tablespoons of sour cream. To assemble the taquitos, I sprayed them with water and warmed each side on a heated pan. Based on other reviews, I spread some butter on top of the taquitos so the tops wouldn't get to hard. Next time I will add more seasoning, something else in the filling to make it less dry and maybe bake them longer at a lower temp so they aren't quite as crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
The recipe as written is good, and I made a few as written. But, I ended up adding some sour cream to the remaining chicken mixture, as I was having a hard time keeping the rolled taquito together. I used Chipotle Tabasco® for the flavoring, and it offered wonderful taste. I heated 2 shells at a time in the microwave for 10 seconds rather heating them on the stovetop. Quick and easy to make. I served this with a personal recipe from AR, and we had a nice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Great flavor and easy to make. I decided not to use the canned chicken we have fresh in our back yard. After a little plucking and some knife work, I took my fresh chicken breast, seared it in cast iron and tossed it in the oven. After baking the chicken breast we shredded the meat and returned it to the pan, added 1 cup of water and diced chipotle peppers. slow cooked until tender and added it to the tortillas. Spicy, fresh and so simple to make. Only down side to the way I cooked, it does take more time to get the meat slow cooked and shredded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
The meat needed more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodiJean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
This is a really, really good recipe. And super easy. I use the Tyson southwestern grilled chicken strips, chopped finely before adding the cheese. Then, for the tortillas, per another reviewer's suggestion, microwave two at a time in a damp paper towel for 30 seconds. Then, lightly spray with olive oil cooking spray on both sides before stuffing and rolling. Also, spray the tops well once again, after rolling before baking. OMG these are soooo much better than the frozen ones! I serve for dinner with a dollop each of Wholly Guacamole, Fage 0% and medium fresh chunky salsa. My hubby LOVES these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I have made this tonight - it is in the oven now. The chicken filling tastes good - but they are not staying together. The tortillas were cracking and breaking as I rolled them - now they are just totally coming apart with the heat from the oven. I am not sure this is how it is supposed to go. By the way it looks - I will more than likely remove the filling from them and throw them into a warm flour tortilla and call them burritos. No bueno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This was okay for me, definitely needs a little tweaking. The flavor wasn't great, actually it just didn't have too much flavor for my family's liking. It needed more kick to it. Plus, mine came out really crunchy and dry. I watch them carefully but still pretty hard, like stale hard. I would make them again but definitely change things up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReadMyLips26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Tried this as a last minute dinner idea tonight. Gave it 4 stars for the overall idea. As others have, I added some spices (cumin, onion powder, garlic powder, pepper and a pinch of cayenne) as well as sautéed onion and garlic. I sprayed a baking sheet with non-stick spray, and sprayed the taquitos as well. They crisped nicely in the oven as described in the recipe. Family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I tried this recipe for want of something simple to make for dinner. I make it now at least twice a month and when I am expecting company, I use small tortillas and make a batch of ground beef, pulled beef and chicken taquitos. These are the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minden, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States