Easy Chicken Taco Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
This recipe was very easy and fast. My kids loved it. We served it in flour tortillas with mushrooms, cheese, and tomatoes. I used some legs and thighs instead of breasts, it is much cheaper. I just boiled and shredded the chicken with a fork. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
I agree this filling could use some more flavoring and I used a hand blender/food processor to really mince the chicken but it was darn good, I'll probably add many more spices next run through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This is really yummy. I added a little yellow bell pepper too and some natural salt and little bit of some other seasonings along with adding a little chicken broth to make a light sauce! YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This recipe, as written, both ingredients and directions, is a 1.5 to 2 stars, at best. I read it, read it again, and made a Scooby Doo "baroooo??" noise. I equated this recipe to somebody telling me to make a tuna fish sandwich by opening the can of tuna, mixing it w/ just mayo, and slapping it b/t bread. Sure, it's a starting point, but the only way to take this recipe from yawn to yum is by tweaking it a bit. That being said, I did the chicken FIRST, then added the onions and peppers, and began jabbing at the chicken w/ my spatula to break it into smaller and smaller pieces. I then added 3 TB of "Taco Seasoning I" recipe from here, along w/ 3/4 c. H20, boiled, then simmered until the liquid was absorbed. Served them w/ green onion, cilantro, tomatoes, and salsa, and then the recipe was scrumptious. I hate to leave a bad review, but the recipe just needs to major spicin' up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I liked that the "basics" where there and it was easy but it needed Zing!!! I added in medium salsa, Banana Peppers and that gave it a lift that I was thinking of when I hear the word "taco"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
It wasn't awful, but I needed to add seasonings to make the tacos flavorful. This is an OK base but not a complete recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
I give it one star because my family ate it, but otherwise it was a disaster! The poor little veggies had practically burned away to nothing while the chicken was still half raw in the middle. It took some quick thinking to even keep them at an edible level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheesecakemama
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This recipe left like it is gets a low rating, because bland. I used leftover chicken I had from the baked crockpot chicken, I shredded, added fresh chopped cilantro, 1 tsp. cumin, 1 tsp. chili powder, fresh garlic, added just enough broth to simmer, chopped onion, green pepper and roma tomatoe. Then filled wheat tortilla with mixture added cheese to melt. Pretty healthy taco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This recipe is a starter. You must add seasoning and spices to make it a "taco", otherwise it just cooked chicken and veggies. Definitely needs taco seasoning, or cumin, garlic, paprika and some chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I think maybe something or some steps were left out of original recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Chicken Taco Dinner

This meal of tacos with black beans and chocolate pudding is under 600 calories.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Salsa Chicken Burrito Filling

See how to make a quick, saucy shredded chicken filling for burritos and tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States