Easy Chicken Stew with Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
WINNER! This was so delicious. Will make this again and again. Like another review said, the next time I'll add some green beans, just for more color. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZenMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nesconset, New York, USA
Living In: Skaneateles, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tami
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Delicious! I did, however, not add the celery or parsnips (subbed extra carrots); and when I went to my fridge to get the apple cider...gone! So I used enough chicken stock to cover, and added 1/4 tsp cinnamon and 1/8 tsp ground cloves to simulate some of the spices in the cider. I would thicken the sauce next time, but that's just personal preference. Thanks for a great and interesting recipe, for a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I really really like this, I made a couple minor changes based on the ingredients I had available but I basically followed it bang on and it turned out wonderful! The only major change was I didn't have apple cider so like other reviewers I just added some cinnamon and cloves to give it the right spice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
SO DELICIOUS! I added a few handfuls of peas to add some more color, a little more salt, and also let it simmer for an hour instead of half an hour so that it would thicken and the potatoes would get more tender. Seriously, though, this is an amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This recipe was a hit! Personal taste omissions-parsnips and caraway seeds. and the addition of sweet potatoes. Everyone went back for 2nds and recipe was requested. This will definitely go into our recipe rotation!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
If your looking for more color use sweet potato instead. They add color and a sweetness that compliments the chicken and apples. I also use chicken thighs and soak my apples in fireball whisky. I add a little BBQ sauce to my cider/chicken broth combo. Sounds funny but it works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyrak74

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I used one bone-in chicken breast and a bunch "leftovers" from having cut up whole chickens (I always freeze the carcasses as there's still alot meat left on them). I let those boil whole in the soup until fully cooked then shredded and added it back to the soup. I replaced the fresh parsley with dried (that's what I had) and increased the garlic to 2 cloves. Omitted the celery and parsnips, opting for extra carrots, 1 more apple, 1 more potato. Used a yellow onion. The soup is little on the sweet side, which can easily be remedied by using less apple cider and more stock, or using a little hard apple cider with stock instead. I like the tang from the vinegar. I did mash up the potatoes a bit to thicken, and would probably use a few more next time to really make this a stew, as in it's current state it's more like a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Delicious but I made some changes since I don't have all the ingredients. 2 cups of broth and more than a cup of apple cider is too much, as one of the reviewer said its more like a soup than a stew. Instead I put 1 1/2 cup broth and a cup of pineapple juice (I don't have apple cider), it was still too much I ended up adding cornstarch to make it thick. I also use dill instead of caraway seed and added lemon juice. The lemon juice balance the sweetness of the pineapple juice. In the end me and my husband like it and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I think one thing that separates a good recipe from mediocre is its versatility. This is a versatile recipe that I have made many times. I usually don't have celery, so I omit it. I always sub sweet potatoes for white--maybe that's why it seems plenty sweet to me--and I usually add thyme or Italian seasoning and minced garlic with the chopped onions and cook them with the chicken, deglaze with cider, and then add the remaining ingredients and liquid. I also add extra vinegar and skip the apple cider. It's good the original way, but easy to adapt. It's definitely a favorite in our house. Both my boys love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I used sweet potato which helped with the color and was quite nice. I also made it in the crock pot, added some mushrooms and odds and ends of veggies I had. Made a nice summer soup (I agree not really a stew). The Kids ate it which is always a plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States