Easy Chicken Stew with Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I agree - it IS surprisingly delightful. I was unsure if we would like a chicken stew with apples and apple cider - I was concerned it would be too sweet. It was not. I did not use the parsnips because we don't care for them, but other than that, I made it as directed. The only negative is the color. With the white apples, potatoes, and chicken, the only other color was the orange carrots and a little bit of green (parsley). It would have more visual appeal if there were more green, maybe. Perhaps some spinach or green beans? I don't know if they would change the taste, though. Bottom line is that I will make it again. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
WINNER! This was so delicious. Will make this again and again. Like another review said, the next time I'll add some green beans, just for more color. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZenMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nesconset, New York, USA
Living In: Skaneateles, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I'm a long-time chef, and when I read this recipe had my reservations due to the complexity and variety of the total ingredients. I should have listened to my gut. I made this dish for a special event with some friends, and it fell flatter than a pancake under a 20 ton weight. It was actually going along fairly well until I added the tablespoon of cider vingegar - which changed the entire flavor of the dish. And there was no real recovery after that because I didn't have time to mess with it. The texture was mushy and the flavor was uninspired. Some suggestions I would offer are these: Substitute Jerusalem artichokes for potatoes (much more expensive, I know, but better for diabetics) and add a handful of dried cranberries to sweeten it up. This recipe needs to focus on being on the sweeter side with the use of apples and apple cider, but like other reviewers have mentioned, it doesn't quite go there (but it should). This recipe sends mixed flavor messages in my view. You can pick this up just by reading the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I really really like this, I made a couple minor changes based on the ingredients I had available but I basically followed it bang on and it turned out wonderful! The only major change was I didn't have apple cider so like other reviewers I just added some cinnamon and cloves to give it the right spice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tami
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Delicious! I did, however, not add the celery or parsnips (subbed extra carrots); and when I went to my fridge to get the apple cider...gone! So I used enough chicken stock to cover, and added 1/4 tsp cinnamon and 1/8 tsp ground cloves to simulate some of the spices in the cider. I would thicken the sauce next time, but that's just personal preference. Thanks for a great and interesting recipe, for a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I used one bone-in chicken breast and a bunch "leftovers" from having cut up whole chickens (I always freeze the carcasses as there's still alot meat left on them). I let those boil whole in the soup until fully cooked then shredded and added it back to the soup. I replaced the fresh parsley with dried (that's what I had) and increased the garlic to 2 cloves. Omitted the celery and parsnips, opting for extra carrots, 1 more apple, 1 more potato. Used a yellow onion. The soup is little on the sweet side, which can easily be remedied by using less apple cider and more stock, or using a little hard apple cider with stock instead. I like the tang from the vinegar. I did mash up the potatoes a bit to thicken, and would probably use a few more next time to really make this a stew, as in it's current state it's more like a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
SO DELICIOUS! I added a few handfuls of peas to add some more color, a little more salt, and also let it simmer for an hour instead of half an hour so that it would thicken and the potatoes would get more tender. Seriously, though, this is an amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This dish was good, but was more of a soup rather than a stew, and it was quite sweet. If I was to make it again, I would probably lessen the cider and increase the chicken stock, just leaving the apple to sweeten it. I also substituted peas for the parsnips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I have made this quite a few times and every fall when I have too many apples, turnips etc and need a warm comforting soup, i go back to it. It is nothing I would feed guests or company; it's just too simple and homey. but is it great for the kids and easy to put together in the crock pot or even after work. It is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
If your looking for more color use sweet potato instead. They add color and a sweetness that compliments the chicken and apples. I also use chicken thighs and soak my apples in fireball whisky. I add a little BBQ sauce to my cider/chicken broth combo. Sounds funny but it works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyrak74

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States