Easy Chicken Stew with Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I used this as a base guideline for a stew I made tonight. This alone has some odd things that just do not pair together, as it stands it needs to have a balance of savory and sweet and this is not it. If you followed these directions you would end up with a soupy mess with odd ball flavor contrasts. This is what I did since I just received about 48 red apples a couple days ago I cut them up and froze them. I made a base boiling 4 chicken thighs in a pot of water then when cooked through took them out to cut the meat off. I seasoned the water with a tablespoon of soy sauce, and then added chicken bouillon till it tasted right. I diced up some baby carrots and a handful of broccoli tossed it in, with the diced chicken. I then made some traditional dumplings and added in two tablespoons of corn starch whisked in a half cup of water to thicken it. I added in two cups of diced apples and boiled it for 45 minutes to soften the apples and cook the dumplings. added salt and pepper to taste and it came out great. Why would you add in vinegar ? of any kind ? that would completely destroy the delicate balance of the sweet and savory ! Sweet and Savory not Sweet and Sour !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I used sweet potato which helped with the color and was quite nice. I also made it in the crock pot, added some mushrooms and odds and ends of veggies I had. Made a nice summer soup (I agree not really a stew). The Kids ate it which is always a plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I think one thing that separates a good recipe from mediocre is its versatility. This is a versatile recipe that I have made many times. I usually don't have celery, so I omit it. I always sub sweet potatoes for white--maybe that's why it seems plenty sweet to me--and I usually add thyme or Italian seasoning and minced garlic with the chopped onions and cook them with the chicken, deglaze with cider, and then add the remaining ingredients and liquid. I also add extra vinegar and skip the apple cider. It's good the original way, but easy to adapt. It's definitely a favorite in our house. Both my boys love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This recipe was a hit! Personal taste omissions-parsnips and caraway seeds. and the addition of sweet potatoes. Everyone went back for 2nds and recipe was requested. This will definitely go into our recipe rotation!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Delicious but I made some changes since I don't have all the ingredients. 2 cups of broth and more than a cup of apple cider is too much, as one of the reviewer said its more like a soup than a stew. Instead I put 1 1/2 cup broth and a cup of pineapple juice (I don't have apple cider), it was still too much I ended up adding cornstarch to make it thick. I also use dill instead of caraway seed and added lemon juice. The lemon juice balance the sweetness of the pineapple juice. In the end me and my husband like it and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I used one bone-in chicken breast and a bunch "leftovers" from having cut up whole chickens (I always freeze the carcasses as there's still alot meat left on them). I let those boil whole in the soup until fully cooked then shredded and added it back to the soup. I replaced the fresh parsley with dried (that's what I had) and increased the garlic to 2 cloves. Omitted the celery and parsnips, opting for extra carrots, 1 more apple, 1 more potato. Used a yellow onion. The soup is little on the sweet side, which can easily be remedied by using less apple cider and more stock, or using a little hard apple cider with stock instead. I like the tang from the vinegar. I did mash up the potatoes a bit to thicken, and would probably use a few more next time to really make this a stew, as in it's current state it's more like a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I'm a long-time chef, and when I read this recipe had my reservations due to the complexity and variety of the total ingredients. I should have listened to my gut. I made this dish for a special event with some friends, and it fell flatter than a pancake under a 20 ton weight. It was actually going along fairly well until I added the tablespoon of cider vingegar - which changed the entire flavor of the dish. And there was no real recovery after that because I didn't have time to mess with it. The texture was mushy and the flavor was uninspired. Some suggestions I would offer are these: Substitute Jerusalem artichokes for potatoes (much more expensive, I know, but better for diabetics) and add a handful of dried cranberries to sweeten it up. This recipe needs to focus on being on the sweeter side with the use of apples and apple cider, but like other reviewers have mentioned, it doesn't quite go there (but it should). This recipe sends mixed flavor messages in my view. You can pick this up just by reading the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This dish was good, but was more of a soup rather than a stew, and it was quite sweet. If I was to make it again, I would probably lessen the cider and increase the chicken stock, just leaving the apple to sweeten it. I also substituted peas for the parsnips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
SO DELICIOUS! I added a few handfuls of peas to add some more color, a little more salt, and also let it simmer for an hour instead of half an hour so that it would thicken and the potatoes would get more tender. Seriously, though, this is an amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I really really like this, I made a couple minor changes based on the ingredients I had available but I basically followed it bang on and it turned out wonderful! The only major change was I didn't have apple cider so like other reviewers I just added some cinnamon and cloves to give it the right spice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States