Easy Chicken Satay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I'm doing the slower-cooker version of this recipe, which means I used more chicken, cut it into bite size pieces, sauteed in frying pan and then moved to crock pot. Assembled the rest of the recipe and simply poured it on top (added garlic, chopped red pepper, and used lemon instead of lime juice). The house smells like heaven and the chicken tastes amazing! I'll serve over Trader Joe's vegetable rice. So good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clearview

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Oh my goodness, thank you SO MUCH Shannon for sharing this wonderfully fragrant and tasty dish! I did not alter any of the ingredients, and it was absolutely delicious as is. It is definitely definitely mild on the "heat" aspect, but adding cayenne or red pepper flakes could easily fix that. I only made two alterations when it came to preparing this recipe: I marinated it for six hours, and I did not grill the skewers. I poured the chicken bites and all the marinated into a large glass dish, covered it with tinfoil, and baked it at 325 degrees for about an hour. The result was incredibly tender and juicy. An absolutely delicious and easy to make dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
My dear sweet Shannon; we all loved this dish of yours! Rainy, chilly and foggy today, so I just skewered the chix and put them in the oven with the marinade. I used lite coconut milk, made thin spaghetti, added shredded cooked carrots, raw green onion, some of the wonderful dipping sauce, put it all onto a pretty plate and topped it with the skewers. A bit of red pepper flakes gave the sauce just a tad of heat. Excellent and thank you hon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I would give this 10 stars if I could! I developed a peanut allergy as an adult, but grew up with peanut butter as my favorite food. I finally found an almond butter that tastes exactly like peanut butter, and couldn't wait to use in this recipe. It was unbelieveable! I could make this recipe once or twice a week and never tire of it. I served this over brown rice. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
Beats Emeril's recipe! I love this peanut sauce. Today I didn't have the time to marinate the chicken - just did a quick soy sauce and garlic soak before stir frying it. But the sauce is the real star here anyway. It's a perfect blend of flavors. I followed another reviewers suggestion and added some ginger and chili sauce - simply delicious! Since I only cook for 2, there's plenty of sauce left over which I'll probably toss with angle hair pasta tomorrow night. Thanks for sharing this winner - it's my new favorite Thai Peanut Sauce recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
I was wondering why I didn't already have curry powder in my spice rack when I decided to make this recipe, then I realized...I don't like curry! That being said, I didn't mind it in the marinade, but I tasted the sauce as it was cooking and realized it was not going to do it for me, so I added 1 1/2 tsp chile sauce, a dash of red pepper flakes and about a teaspoon of minced ginger. Finished it off with lime and it was excellent! Next time I will omit the curry powder from the sauce, but still use it in the marinade just to give it a hint of curry flavor. Still, I think it was an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Fantastic I did add some red pepper to the peanut sauce and some ginger to the marinade. I used the indoor grill, I do think they lost something in appearance but the taste was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grifo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cragsmoor, New York, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Super easy and super yummy. Try basting the skewered chicken with some of the peanut sauce while it is grilling and serve the remainder of the sauce at tableside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
The marinade and chicken part was delicious and resulted in a very moist and tender chicken. I will definiitely use that again. But... My family did not like the peanut sauce at all. It just tasted like peanut butter flavored coconut milk... not at all like satay's that we have enjoyed a lot. After tweaking the dipping sauce (a lot),with more soy, cayenne, heavy cream, ginger, black pepper, garlic and I can't remember what else, I loved it. I served over Jasmine rice and a stir fry of snow peas, red onion, yellow squash, brocolli, and mushrooms. Even though we didn't like the peanut sauce as written, I feel we found a recipe *treasure* because it was so easy and delicious. I will make over and over again with our changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
The sauce rocks! We are using it to dip wings on Superbowl Sunday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

How to Make Chicken Satay

See how to make authentic Thai-style chicken satay.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States