Easy Chicken Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Needs more seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I used minute rice instead of regular so I only had to cook it for 45 mins, I also used 1 can cream of chicken and 1 can cream of brocolli. I added a small bag of frozen mixed veggies and cheddar cheese to the top covered and baked. It came out good with leftovers. I also added garlic powder, onion salt and pepper to give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
okay, so this was okay. Simple to throw together. I needed something to take to covered dish dinner @ church & didn't have a lot of time to fuss over a complicated dish & this certainly fit the bill. I suggest either decreasing the amount of rice a little or increasing the liquid. I found it a little dry - not creamy. So, I added a can of chicken broth at the end and continued cooking until that was absorbed & then rice was more tender. Also added some seasoning to the soup mixture to bump up the flavor - tyme, poultry seasoning & a little salt & pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Winders McCain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
This is a great base recipe. I cooked the rice separately. I added a lot to this because I felt it might be a bit bland as is. I added parsley, a bit of savory, a few shakes of Montreal Chicken Seasoning, some seasoned salt and pepper to the cubed chicken, and cooked it up in a skillet with some olive oil and onion, just browning the pieces of chicken. To this I added some baby carrots, sliced celery and the milk and cream of chicken. I simmered this for maybe 10 minutes and then dumped it all in a baking pan (not sure of the size, but much smaller than 9x13 as I halved the recipe to begin with). I baked this at 350 for about an hour, at which point I shredded up some Cheddar Jack cheese (maybe 1/4 cup) and melted that in. Also added some frozen peas. Back in the oven for about 10 mins, and served over rice. Very very good, will definitely make again, and I will probably modify it some other way next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
This is a great basic recipe because from here you can really add what ever you like to make it different each time! I did fallow the others advice and "spiced" it up a little so it wouldn't be bland. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ramboettrach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I always keep 2 cans of Cream of Chicken Soup in my pantry for nights when I just don't feel like cooking, so I can make this. The only changes I make to the recipe are to add some black pepper, thickly sliced zucchini, some mushrooms and 300ml of cream. Otherwise, it is a very tasty and very easy dinner option. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bec

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
it said it would take 90 min to cook.....it took over 2 hrs and i had to microwave it til the rice was tender......big hint cook the rice at least half way then add everything else......other then that it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle
Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I learned this recipe about 25 years ago. Yeah, that's how old it is. Here's the kicker - I made it the way this recipe calls to make it. When I made it the very first time I used the asked for 'regular' rice and it took forever and when I pulled it out at the time suggested it wasn't done the rice was crunchy. Well, to make a long story short (lol) I called the person who gave me the recipe and said, "I cooked that dish for way more than the hour it called for and the rice never cooked" her reply was, "Oh, didn't I tell you that your suppose to use MINUTE RICE not regular rice". It has worked ever since to perfection. Equal rice and milk to each can of cream of chicken (cut into strips) - plus seasonings of choice. Sometimes a extra can of rice for the road.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I was very concerned about my rice ending up either too dry OR too mushy, so i cooked my rice seperate. I cooked the cut up chicken (seasoned with italian dressing seasoning packet) with 1 can cream of mushroom and 1 can cream of chicken, plus one cup of milk. Added some fresh mushrooms. Also added handful of cheese at the last 15 min of cooking. Poured the mixture over the rice, and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Great chicken breast recipe. Everyone loves it and was easy to make. Not much more to ask for than that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States