Easy Chicken Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Made this last night for the wife and I so I cut the recipe in half (for leftovers). I took some advice of others, added 1 1/2 cups milk to one can of soup with 1 cup of rice, added a small can of mushrooms, had to bake about 1 hour & 15 minutes then added panko bread crumbs and shredded cheddar cheese for 10 minutes. For spices I rubbed in Old Bay seasoning on the cutup chicken. It was good, but next time I would precook the rice (not totally cook it) on the stove because baking rice leaves it a little crunchy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Good Basic recipe, I made this for 13 people and adjusted everything up to 5 cups. All 6 kids liked it, was a tiny bit on the bland side for me but the Adults all said it was good. A little bit like glue but rice tends to get that way. I also added a bag of shredded cheese. All in all was an easy dinner to feed 4 generations of my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This was so so as is. I only had 1 can of soup. So, I halved the recipe. To add volume, I added 1 cup of frozen spinach to the soup rice mixture. I also only had chicken quarters. I browned them with a good dose of lemon pepper seasoning quickly in a skillet before I topped the rice. I baked it covered for 45 mins. and that was plenty of time for the chicken and the rice. I would submit this as an entirely separate recipe. But I cannot find the link to share since AR updated this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemary Felle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I used the above ingredients but added one can of vegetable broth, onion, garlic,celery,grilled fresh mushrooms,salt,pepper,cumin a little shredded cheese then chips on top. I baked it 45 minutes and it was perfect. The chicken I used was shreaded chicken cooked in the slow cooker. Great recipe use one 24oz jar of salsa (I use Walmart salsa with corn and black beans) add one envelope of low sodium taco seasoning. Put 6 frozen or thawed chicken breast in a slow cooker cover with the salsa mix making sure all chicken is covered with salsa then cook on low for 4 to 5hrs (for frozen) I take the chicken out and shred it ,then save the salsa mix and use it for enchillidas. great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Overall a nice easy dish! There's only 2 of us so I halved the recipe and made it in an 8x8 glass pan. I added a tsp garlic powder, tsp thyme, and kept the salt at 1 tsp. mine took 1 hour to cook through, stirred once halfway through. I also did not take the foil off at the end to make the top of the casserole crispy (just a preference). Next time, I think I would add a little extra milk to make it a little saucier. It was creamy tasting but I'd like just a little extra liquid/cream sauce as the rice really soaked it all up. Would be nice with some broccoli florets added in too. Will definitely make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This was an OK recipe, I used two chicken breats. and halfed the recipe. I baked in a casserole dish and it turned out dry! The rice was not cooked after and hour and all the liquid had dried up. next time i will use two cans of soup and see how that works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
It was just OK - after about an hour everything got super dry. Good thing I didn't cook it for 90 minutes... also glad I added some extra seasoning or it would have been a little bland. Next time I will add more liquid and cook it for about 45 minutes. I added sage which really brought out the flavor of the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teakettica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I only had 2 cans of cream of chicken soup on hand and this recipe gave me a great start! I used a 2 quart baking dish. I browned the chicken first, used 2 cups of uncooked brown rice instead of white, 1 cup of milk instead of 2 cups and added onion, peas, corn and red pepper. I also used garlic salt instead of regular salt and added Johnny's Seasoning Salt for extra flavor. I baked for one hour, then uncovered, added grated cheddar cheese and baked for an additional 10 minutes. My boyfriend loves comfort food and this hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Great basic recipe to start with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Pretty good and very easy to make. I like to have seasonings added, and would like to see this recipe have add-ins like peas or something. Without these things, the flavor tends to taste too much like canned goods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States