Easy Chicken Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This was great! Tastes just like the homemade Pozole my Mexican friends make! I cubed and browned 2lbs of chicken. Then in large pot browned 1 large onion and 3 cloves of garlic - added chicken, water, chicken broth, 2 Tbsp chile powder, dash of salt, and oregano and left it cook for about 80 min. Then added hominy and cilantro. Served with lime, radishes, tostadas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Yum yum yum yum yum! This was great. Instead of cooking the chicken I used a store bought roasted chicken and took the skin off. I didn't have enough but it still turned out fine. The only other modifications I did were to cut back to 1T of oil, use Mexican oregano instead of regular, and I only used about 3T of chili pepper because we don't like really spicy food. This amount was perfect for us. The broth tasted just like restaurant Posole...the only difference was the chicken instead of pork but that was just as good or even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I have been looking for a long time for an easy posole recipe. This is it!! My husband is Mexican and when I go to his families house they use other kinds of meat and I didn't want to have to go through the hassle like they did. My husband came home from work and I served this with some radishes, lime, and little raw cabbage for toppings. He loved it!! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanielynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarLemons86
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I made this the other day and it was good. It was lacking a little taste, so I added a can of enchilada sauce. WOW what a difference! My husband LOVED IT! I garnished it with onion, shredded cabbage and lime juice added a little hot sauce and it was almost as good as my mami's posole. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarLemons86

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearfield, Utah, USA
Living In: Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Great recipes, this is similar to what my mexican mother has been making for years, except she makes her with beef. I doubled up on the hominy and chili powder as we like things a little spicier. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I first had Posole in Mexico on a missions trip. I use cumin and cilantro. Have chopped cilantro, chopped green onion tops and other condiments when serving to add various flavors. This is my favorite winter soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Larned, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I made this recipe for my very picky husband and he loved it! His family is from Mexico and so when I cook Mexican food it is always compared to theirs however, this is a recipe he actually talked to his mom about! YES! FINALLY! SOMETHING HE LIKES! If you are a Posole fan this recipe is for you. It's simple and it still turns out to taste authentic! I brought left overs into work the next day and my co-workers loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Ever since I came back from Acapulco, I have been looking for an easy, basic pozole recipe and I think this is it! I added an extra clove or two of garlic and added a couple extra dashes of salt. Other than that it was AWESOME! Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This is outstanding. Ive tried it with red chile powder and green. Go green baby(hot).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Mexican comfort food! My family's recipe is slightly different: 1) use pork tenderloin, brown it the pot along with garlic and onion. 2) Add chicken broth (reduced to 1 cup) and use 3-4 cups of salsa verde (home-made or Herdez). 3) Skip chili powder and add finely chopped cilantro 4) let simmer for 1-2 hours until meat is tender, then remove from pot and shred with a fork. 5) return the meat to the pot, add hominy. 6) simmer for another 15 minutes at least. Serve with shredded cabbage, lime wedges, and sliced radishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States