Easy Chicken Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by sweet sakura
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Thank you for this recipe, this was my first time making it and it came out great! I was soo worried for nothing, this was just too easy to make, I only just boiled and shredded chicken thigh meat instead of breast meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet sakura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Photo by msjenipher1
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Great Recipe! Only thing I must say is please use New Mexico chili powder, or California Chili powder. It really makes a HUGE difference. Also, if you don't feel like doing the chicken, buy a rotisserie chicken instead. I also topped mine with shredded cabbage instead of lettuce. I could eat this everyday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I give this 4 stars because improvement can be made to make it taste better and more authentic. But it is a simple and good starter recipe. I also messed up on the chicken by boiling it the night before to save time. It made it rubbery the next day. I will make again, but perhaps use rotisserie chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Made just as recipe stated. The flavor is very good. For those who say it's too spicy or not enough, remember that not all chili powder packs the same heat nor has the same flavor profile. I didn't give this recipe 5 stars because my chicken turned out a bit chewy. However, my daughters had no complaints! Oh, and don't forgo the garnishes. They really do add something good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Turned out amazing! The only thing I changed was that I boiled my chicken with some onions, lime, and cilantro to cook it instead of in a skillet. I find its easier to shred that way. I also added some garlic salt. Even my picky (read: impossible) eater fiance loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenXya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Very good stuff. I like the spice level. I thought chicken fried in a pan would be a hassle to shred, so I did it in the crock pot with the water and broth, cooked it on high maybe 2-3 hours. After that it almost shreds itself. Then I cooked the garlic w/just a bit of oil in my mini saucepan, and didn't use the onion. From there, everything was as is. Though I did only use the tortilla chips and cilantro for garnishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Eneilewej
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Loved this recipe. Tasted authentic and was very easy to make. I'll be making this again soon! Served it with lime, chopped cabbage, cilantro, scallions, and crumbled tortilla chips. Sabroso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
For the longest time I have wanted to make this mexican soup and it came out so good and tasty my family still thinks I went out to our favorite resturant and purchased a pot of there posole, This Resturant is well know for in my community and they could not stop talking about how good it was..people wait in line on saturday mornings to eat at this place and my food teasted as good as there Yes I am the Man..but lets kept this to our selves as I dont want them to expect me to cook this for every time we get together...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I added crushed tomatos in the broth!! It was really good and the second time I made it I added carrots and celery. It wasn't typical posole but still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I have a Mexican boyfriend that always compares my food to his mom's, so needless to say he can be a harsh critic. However, he LOVED this posole and said that it was just as good as his mom's! I did add extra chili powder and also some ground cumin (about 1 1/2 teaspoons), and added one bay leaf, but other than that I followed the recipe. I served this with lime and tostadas. This tastes amazing, and I will be making it frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sydney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States