Easy Chicken Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Very nice soup! Perfect for a frigid evening like ours is tonight. I followed the recipe pretty close, just added a little more garlic and 1/2 tsp. of cumin, and I only had 2 cans of hominy on the shelves, and it was really good! We garnished with finely chopped onions, thinly sliced radishes, avocado cubes, crumbled tostadas and squeezed some fresh lime juice on it. My daughter speaks the language, she hasn't been really fond of Mexican food, but after this she said she's changing her mind! (and said this has to go into the winter soup rotation). A bowl is going to the teacher tomorrow, too. Thanks for the tasty and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I haven't had posole since I was a kid growing up in Southern California. I was leery of this recipe thinking that it couldn't match the posole I had back then. What a surprise! This was excellent! The only change I made was to add a little cumin to the recipe. I served homemade tortillas with it. No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This recipe was very easy to follow and turned out great! I garnished it with avocado slices and tortilla strips and served it with mango margaritas. Great family dinner and I was able to freeze the rest for use on a night I don't feel like cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Posole is very traditional in NM, where I live, and is always made around the holidays to accompany tamales. I cook a pork roast and cut into bite size pieces and add fresh red chili (which I make myself from red chili pods). Also, I use the broth from the fresh posole (homony) in lieu of chicken broth. Before serving, I sprinkle each individual bowl with cheese and serve with warm flour tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lolly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Delicious! I added a small can of chopped green chilies and 1/2 tsp ground cumin and reduced the chili powder by half. So easy and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Just made a double batch of this for our New's Year day family gathering and it was a huge hit. Did everything exactly according to the recipe, right down to the garnishes. Everyone pronounced it authentic-tasting and the aroma in the house was terrific! I also can feature it with a dollop of sour cream and/or shredded cheese. Thank you, deedee, for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I first had Posole in Mexico on a missions trip. I use cumin and cilantro. Have chopped cilantro, chopped green onion tops and other condiments when serving to add various flavors. This is my favorite winter soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AISTRUP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Larned, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Delicious and authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Newport
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lor75

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This recipe was amazing... I love Pozole but I always had to wait for my mom to make it for me. And I tried once to make it, lets just say it was not very good. But I made this recipe last night, & there were no left overs!!! I'm keeping this recipe in my recipe box.. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States