Easy Chicken Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This is great, easy recipe. I make it a meal and go with 2-3 pounds of shredded chicken breast. I would also double up on the hominy. It's the best part. Instead of chopping onion, I used a bag of frozen Pictsweet Seasoning Blend (Onions, Celery, Green & Red Peppers, Parsley Flakes). I also added garlic salt, lots of chili powder and some cumin, since we like it with a kick. I garnish it with shredded cabbage, cilantro, lime juice, sliced radish, tomatoes, avocado, jalapeno peppers, cheese, more oregano, whatever you like. I just recently made it with Swanson Mexican Tortilla Flavor Infused Broth. Just the right amount of flavor, not too much. It turned out great! My husband loves it! It makes a huge batch, but it will be gone quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Vigil
Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Amazing!! Just like my Mexican Abuela! Use olive oil spray or this is a little too oily. Top with Cotija cheese and cilantro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
So good!!!!! Only thing I changed was the chili powder to 2 tblsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Great recipe. Husband and I make this often. I add green chile salsa and cojita cheese. The soup freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mona

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
this was so easy ... and omg it was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tnunez79
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I just made this and omg it was wonderful. My husband and loves this. He said was as good as his moms. That just says it all. We added potatoes with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
it was great will make again and i also add a tablespoon of cumin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Super easy The chicken got took on a really nice flavor simmering for 90 minutes. Husband loved it, so always a good thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I've been wanting to make pasole for so long but couldn't find a good recipe- I tried this recipe though and the ratings don't do it justice-- it came out amazing! Only thing I did different is I seared the onions and garlic FIRST then added the rest of the ingredients (all just in one large pot) then simply added 2 cut up limes for added flavor and thawed chicken drumsticks- I let it all just cook together. When I served it in the bowls for my family, we added another slice of lime and the cabbage. And instead of tostada shells, we used a bag of tortilla chips. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nikkidollie
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Delicious! Even my boyfriend who was very adamant that he did not like posole gobbled down a large bowl. I made a few changes to the recipe according to my own tastes, and prepared it in a slow cooker instead of the stove top. I added the shredded chicken, onion, garlic, one 4 oz can of diced green chilies, two 29 oz cans of hominy, 2 quarts of low sodium chicken broth, and one 28 oz can of mild red enchilada sauce to the slow cooker, omitting the water entirely. I reduced the amount of chili powder to 2 teaspoons, and also added 3 small bay leaves, the salt, and oregano and gave everything a good stir before turing the slow cooker on low and cooking for 7 hours. I garnished with diced onion, chopped cilantro and lime (not a fan of cabbage or radish). This recipe was very easy to prepare, and full of flavor, will definitely make again. I highly recommend preparing in a slow cooker, just toss everything in before work, and come home to a delicious, stress-free dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikkidollie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States