Easy Chicken Marsala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Really good! I used more wine than the recipe called for. I just eye-balled how much sauce I wanted and added a little chicken broth to cut the wine taste a bit. Next time I will add just a little bit of flour or cornstarch to thicken the sauce. I didn't serve it with pasta so I didn't need lots of extra sauce. Good low-fat recipe. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marshall, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This was really good and really easy! My husband (who didn't want me to make it because he thought he didn't like chicken marsala) loved it! I followed some other reviewer's tips and made a couple minor adjustments. I pounded the chicken breasts flat in a plastic bag, then shook in another plastic bag to coat with flour and garlic powder. I sauteed chicken in olive oil. I made about three times the amount of sauce (so we'd have enough to put over rice also). I used sweet onions instead of green onions, omitted milk, and used about twice as much marsala as cream. Will try with fat free half/half next time to reduce fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
My family loved this dish! I omitted the milk and added more heavy cream. I also added more wine. Excellent, fast, and very quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I really liked this recipe. I used a dry marsala wine and as others said, made lots of sauce. I also added more mushrooms and used a yellow onion. Very good on multi-grain pasta. I couldn't stop eating the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Love it, love it! I too double or triple the sauce so that we can have extra for pasta. The only change I made, was to use evaporated milk instead of cream. Every little bit of calorie and fat cutting counts. In this case as in many when you use the evaporated milk in place of creams and regular milk products, you get all of the creaminess and not so much of the fat. It is also a real $$ saver. If you have champagne taste but only have beer budget, you will like this substitute. I promise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Not my favorite. I like a more golden demi-style glaze and although we doubled the sauce ingredients it still didn't make enough to cover our noodles. Maybe we did something wrong but we won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama n' papa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
Easy and delicious! My family loved this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Ringoes, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
The Marsala was delicious and I will definitely make it again! I did use some of CatCanCook's suggestions regarding pounding and dredging the chicken (with flour and garlic powder). Like CatCanCook I cooked the meat in the skillet with olive oil and butter. I also agree with her comments regarding more Marsla and less cream/milk a must! I was working with the ingredients I had on hand and was able to substitute fat-free evaporated milk instead of cream/milk (very good). The sauce is so yummy it needs to be doubled or tripled just to have extra to go over the pasta!!! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Good basic recipe, however it's better to pound the chicken first-I put it in a plastic ziplock bag and pound it until thin- dredge in flour(I add garlic powder to the flour)cook in olive oil and butter until golden brown, add the marsala followed by the cream(I use half n half). I never use the onions it changes the flavor too much. I do use roasted garlic sea salt and lemon pepper for seasoning. This recipe calls for equal parts of marsala and cream but in my opinion it needs more marsala and much less cream for a caramel color and richer flavor. With the bits from the cooked chicken and flour the sauce cooks down and thickens. Add capers and voila! I double the sauce and serve over angel hair pasta. Keep in mind it needs to be served right away. Buen Apetito! =^..^=
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Very good recipe! I also doubled the sauce which made it very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States