Easy Chicken Korma Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
I am in a food-exchange co-op and made this for one of our exchanges. I extended it to 6 entrees (24 servings). I think it turned out GREAT! It thawed well. I did pass the recipe on to one of the group members (because she liked mine so much) and when she made it she said it was too salty, but I don't know if she did something wrong when she made it. For our family, it had just the right amount of spicy-heat (we're kind of wimpy!). Don't buy your turmeric and garam masala in the spice section of the grocery store, go to the Asian section, or go to an Asian food market. It will be much less expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I cut my chicken in bite size pieces, stir fried them and then added the sauce. I also added some unsweetened coconut as some others suggested. I doubled the sauce but not the onions. It really doesn't taste like Korma, but it is good. I will make this again.5/20 Update: I made this again and used a whole pint of fat free yogurt and if the spices said 1 tsp, I used 1 TBSP for each spice. Don't put the Turmeric in a plastic food processor, it will stain, wait till after you process it to put in the tumeric. I also processed about 3 TBSP almonds and that helped thicken the sauce. It came out great and tasted more like Korma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
I hate to give a bad review, but I have to say this recipe was horrible. This was my first attempt to prepare an indian dish, but I LOVE Chicken Korma, and have had it at numerous restraunts, and have never had anything even close to this. Since it was my first attempt, I'll give that I could have somehow screwed it up, but I am always very careful to closely follow directions, and measure carefully, so I have to say I would not recommend this recipe. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
I have to disagree with the previous poster -- although this probably isn't "authentic" korma, it's incredibly tasty and definitely a worthy substitution, as it has a lot of Indian flavors. We all loved it, and we *love* Indian food. Plus, it's cheap, healthy and reasonably quick. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
While I might agree with another reviewer that the Chicken Korma I've had in restaurants is a bit better, this is one of the best Indian recipes I've attempted at home!! Easy to make and very authentic tasting. Even my 9 month old daughter loved the sauce over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This was the first time I ever ate Chicken Korma and I thought it was pretty good. Not at all what I expected, in that several reviews gave the impression it was a spicy dish, which it was not. The only thing I did different was I could not find mango chutney anywhere. After buying everything else I needed, a friend suggested I substitute with apricot preserves. She's somewhat of a gourmet cook and thought since mango is a sweet fruit, apricots might work in it's place. The recipe turned out to be very good and I served it over basmati rice as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Purgirl
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This is my second time making this recipe and both times were very good. For those of you who failed at making this recipe, you gotta make sure that you have the correct chutney. You need to use the SWEET one. The only thing I would change is cutting the salt because for some reason it was too salty and make it more liquidy as the sauce was too thick. Other than that, the recipe is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Purgirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
Wow!!!! Fantastic! I did NOT use 2 onions though ( would be way too oniony for our tastes) so instead I used one sweet onion and then in place of the other onion I added a can of diced tomatos (drained)...other than that, I did everything exact, and it was soooooooo yummy, and best of all sooooo easy. I made the sauce and poured over chicken in the baking dish, covered it, put it back in the fridge, went to kickboxing class and and hour later cooked it up and, wala, ready in 1/2 hour. And all that butter and oil is not necessary. Next time I will use just a couple tablespoons of olive oil and then it is super healthy, too. Loved it and so did everyone else. Will make again and again. (note: be sure to cook the onions until they are very soft to ensure a nice creamy texture for the sauce) Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
I only have one word for this recipe... YUM! I have tried to make authentic tasting Indian food at home many times, but the recipes always seem to fall short. This one came through with flying colors. I know I will make this one again and again! Update: I passed this recipe along to my mom who wanted to make it for a work potluck. She works with several doctors from India and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This was delicious. My children, ages three and seven asked for seconds. It was easy to make and will definitely go into rotation as a weeknight meal. I served it over cous-cous. This last time I made it I was running short on time so I sauteed the chicken on the stove and topped with sauce and simmered it for a few minutes. It was at least as good as in the oven. I added half a green pepper to the sauce and added a cup of peas to the chicken. Served it with basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Jakubowski Matteson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States