Easy Chicken Gyro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Made this for Recipe Group...We LOVED this! I was too lazy to drag out the blender, lol, so (earlier in the day) I grated the cucumber and squeezed it dry, then just mixed it in a bowl w/ the rest of the ingredients and refrigerated it to allow the flavors to blend. I marinated my chicken for about 4 hours, only using about 2 tsps. of the oregano b/c I didn't want it to be too overpowering, and that was perfect for us. I cooked the chicken in a pan w/ evoo on the stove instead of broiling it and that worked great. Hubby made several comments on how good these were (and I agree), so that makes this a keeper for us~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Made this using the listed ingredients. I used whole wheat pita bread rounds. Grilled the chicken versus broiling in the oven. I cut the grilled chicken strips into smaller portions and sprinkled them with Cavender's All Purpose Greek Seasoning. Good easy recipe on a hot summer day! This recipe was faceless and was the Recipe Group selection for week 7/7/12. Thanks KarenCanCook for sharing your recipe! I'll definitely make it again as we really liked the Tzatziki sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
For the Recipe Group: These were so easy and delicious! I prepared as written, but had hubs grill the chicken since it was a gorgeous night. Loved the sauce, heaped it on with lots of fresh veggies. This is a great weeknight dinner. I'll be making these again. Sincere thanks for sharing your recipe with AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Tasty and easy! I marinated the chicken for a few hours and it was very flavorful, I pounded it out and grilled it. I will cut the garlic down to just 1 clove in the sauce next time as it was a little overpowering with raw garlic taste for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Absolutly wonderful. I make my own Tzatziki sauce, Hummus, and pita bread when I make greek meals, usually Keftethes (greek Meatballs). I Tried this and it was just as good as Greek meatballs but cheaper and easier. I like Tzatziki II from this site, although I have realized I like sourcream more than yogurt and it is cheaper. I also just squize the water out of the cucumber using a paper towel but dont mess with getting the water out of the yogurt or sourcream and I like "real Hummus" from this site. I cant remember where I found my recipe for keftethes but it is a mixture of a pound of lamb, 1/2 pound ground beef, mint, bread crumbs, egg, and garlic. and then I lightly fry them in a pan. I tried googling but all recipes add something I do not use. As for the chicken I used the marinade but did not broil. I used a frying pan and put in alittle oil on medium high (my oven goes from 1-8 and High I was on 8) when the pan is hot i dump in the chicken I then let it brown on each sides and cook. it getting brown is what creates the flavor. Sometimes when I dont have time to make pita bread i will buy flat bread and heat it in a pan for 15 to 20 seconds a side with alittle oil. and for added flavor I like to grill red onions in a pan with alittle butter or oil. and Don't forget to top with Feta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
This recipe was pretty good; the tzatziki was flavorful, and the chicken tasted ok. My oven doesn't have a broiler (why? I don't know, it's German) so I wound up cooking the chicken in a skillet. Overall it was a good recipe, but I just felt that the chicken was lacking something; that it needed more flavor. I would definitely try it again though and experiment more with different spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShaunaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Recipe Group Selection: 07, July 2012 My family loved this gyro. I marinated the chicken strips for about 4 hours and cooked on the grill in a basket rather than broil. I made the sauce as stated, but the next time I will NOT use the blender. It made the sauce way too thin. Next time I will just blend by hand. We have a favorite Greek restaurant close to home, so I purchased homemade pitas to use with this recipe. I served this with 'Onion Pasta' from AR and we enjoyed a terrific dinner. My family LOVED this week's selection. Thanks KarenCanCook for sharing your recipe. It is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Great recipe! Perfect for summer dinner! I made everything much earlier in the day. Then instead of heating up the oven I cooked the chicken on the grill. The sauce was really good. Our only complaint is that the chicken needed more seasoning. Next time I will add a little salt and more lemon to the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I loved this recipe! It tasted very nearly authentic and I would make it again. I added some light sour cream to the sauce and didn't have cucumber, so I used zucchini instead. I ended up with lots of leftover sauce, so I'll probably use less yogurt next time. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynden, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
We just loved this recipe. My Greek yogurt was old (& bad), so I used sour cream instead for the sauce & didn't use blender but just hand-mixed. We can't grill at our apt. complex, so broiling the chicken was a real winner for us. No pita bread either, so I used small flour tortillas toasted over our gas burner flame. My hubby raved about the flavors; they were just right for us. THANK YOU so much for this delish recipe! A real fresh summer treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robinsky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belle Fourche, South Dakota, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States