Easy Chicken Gyro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Really liked this recipe but next time I use a little less garlic! Will make it again!!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen Facey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Made this for dinner last night....followed the recipe as told except I sautéed the chicken (using the marinade) on the stove top Came out amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Made this for diner...absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYODD CHRISSMASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
deadly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
This was absolutely excellent. I was craving a refreshing, yet hearty summer dish and this was perfect. The tzatziki sauce was wonderful and very garlic-y, which might not be for everyone. I did the chicken in a fry pan after marinating. I could see where broiler or grill would add to the flavor and texture, but stove top was easier for me. I served it with curried couscous (which could also be added to the pita) and fresh fruit on the side. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Awesome recipe! Flavorful and fairly lean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I would give this recipe 5 stars were it not for the iceberg lettuce. IMO iceberg is good for absolutely nothing, and it has no flavor. A romaine, or green or red leaf lettuce does taste good, BUT, traditional gyros do not include lettuce. It's an American add-on. I was pleased to see a Tzatziki recipe to use with the dish as opposed to buying it pre-made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This recipe went almost perfectly for me. I think 1 lemon may be a little too much for the marinade but I guess it depends on how lemony you like your chicken. I used a mini food processor so chopping was quick. I also added less than 1/4th of a medium red onion to the tzatziki. I broiled the chicken @ 5 minutes on each side and it came out cooked and very tender/juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I will be making this again, but I am going to use less oregano next time. The taste of the oregano was kind of overwhelming. I omitted the lemon zest and just added 2 extra tbs of lemon juice. I am also in love with vinegar so I added a extra tbs of that. I marinated the chicken and then cut it into pieces and cooked it in a pan with the left over marinade. I also used a differen sauce receipe but I think im going to make it with sour cream instead of greek yogurt next time. The thickness wasn't an issue, im just not a huge fan of greek yogurt. If you're planning on making left overs, I wouldn't heat the pitas because they are super tough after you brown them and the reheat them. Also, I used green salad mix instead of iceburg. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
These were only so-so for us. I marinated the chicken for several hours and it was still on the bland side. I did use less oregano than called for, but that's because it can tend to get overpowering (to me), and what I used was as much as I wanted to taste. However, aside from the oregano, the chicken had little flavor. The tzatziki was good, I made MUCH less than called for, as I could imagine needing 16 full ounces. I used about 10 oz of yogurt and I'll still be eating it for DAYS, long after the gyros are gone. All in all, it wasn't awful, it just wasn't anything spectacular. Kids didn't dig it, the hubs was gone but I already know that gyros aren't his cup of tea so I probably won't make this one again. The redeeming quality of this meal was actually the bread - piadina romagnola from this site (made whole wheat ones and they were delicious).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States