Easy Chicken Enchilada Crescent Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This tasted awesome and was sooo easy! I didn't even change a thing. Each enchilada uses 2 regular crescents with their seams put together. I halved the recipe for 4 and made it in my small corningware oval dish, it baked up nice and puffy, filled the whole dish when done. You HAVE to try the 10 min enchilada sauce recipe from this site - it was sooo good in this dish!! I served it with mexican rice II also from this site. I will make this often because its so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I had low expectations due to it's simplicity; but my family loved it, including my 3year old who is going through a picky stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callmekelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
We liked it! Baked up so easily! Much easier than conventional enchiladas, esp once you get used to pinching/wrapping the dough. Notes: 1) spray or grease the glass pan; mine stuck to the bottom a lot and I think this would help. 2) could use some spice. we have a kid, as maybe some of you do, so I think next time I'd split the chicken post-heating and add some spices to it and make half the enchiladas spicy. We compensated by topping with taco sauce. 3) One can of sauce was not quite enough, maybe 1 1/2 cans if you can use the 1/2 open can. 4) This tastes more like tamales to me than enchiladas. I think if you like tamales you will love the ease and taste of this recipe. 5) Wrap em quickly, the heated chicken makes the dough harder to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dakar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Very easy. I boiled 2 chicken breasts and then shredded them with my fingers. I heated them with the enchilada sauce and added some taco seasoning. I put 2 rolls together to form a rectangle, then put the chicken and cheese in the middle. Rolled them up and baked in dish for about 15 minutes. They puff up really nice. I made 8 with a little chicken mixture left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Very good! I was quite pleased with these (I didn't set my expectations high at all). My hubby and I got a late start today. We had a few errands to run, and because we didn't leave the house until late in the day, I knew I wouldn't have much time to throw dinner together. These were a snap to prepare, especially since I subbed a rotisserie chicken and therefore eliminated the meat cooking step. As another reviewer commented, I can see how not using a pre-cooked chicken would make this less easy to prepare.... My only other change was halving everything (I was only feeding two people) and adding half a packet of chicken taco seasoning to my meat mixture. As ZELDA3333 did, I too made 4 "enchiladas" by sealing 2 regular crescent rolls together. I piled my filling in the center and then brought up each corner, pinching to seal. Served with Mexicorn and Spanish rice, this was a nice, filling meal. I wouldn't make this all the time, but won't eliminate it from my rotation either. If you're looking for a quick, kiddo pleasing meal that's super easy to put together, this just may be your thing. I can't wait to try this with taco sauce or BBQ pork (just purchase a tub of the stuff at your grocer, sub cheddar for Mexi-blend cheese, top with BBQ sauce and viola - an even EASIER alternative!). Thanks for another great recipe, Pillsbury! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
My boyfriend's sister made this last night and it was delicious! Plan on making it myself soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
made this into a supreme by adding my own favorites like green onion, sweet bell pepper, touch of jalapeno, sour cream, cilantro, black olives! served it with a bed of lettuce, spanish rice, and refried beans. it's easy to make and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss kelli
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This wasnt as good or as easy as I had hoped. Rolling the chicken in the dough was very messy and mine took forever to bake. I would need to decrease the sauce next time so they will cook faster. The taste wasnt too bad but not worth the work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Awesome the first time I made it, but have made it several times since and it wasn't as awesome. I think it's "too much of a good thing" so use this dish as a treat not a staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJPasqua

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 79SHALE97
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
These were okay. But not a second request kinda meal..to quote my husband. I try to have no expectations going into recipes, that way I will not be disappointed. I had tried the chicken (used a store bought/baked chicken) with (used green sauce instead as we prefer it over red) sauce prior to rolling and I'm glad I did. Very underseasoned. So I added the following - Ancho chili powder, red pepper flakes, sour cream, cumin, and regular chili powder. Despite everything I added, they still seemed underseasoned and the Crescent Roll wrap gave it a weird texture (somewhat like a tamale, but not as good). Not a keeper. 0 stars for flavor and 3 stars for ease to make. Star Average - 2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 79SHALE97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States