Easy Chicken Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2001
I left out the ricotta (forgot to buy) and the cloves. I did notice that the 2 eggs seemed to make the mixture very "wet" so I added some bread crumbs to make it easier to handle. I also didn't have crackers on hand so I crushed some corn flakes. I'm not a fan of hot oil but it was easy to make and my husband and I both loved them. I made a honey mustard dipping sauce for them as well. I would probably make this again but might try baking them instead of frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I actually baked these instead of frying them. I also added a little minced garlic. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
I grilled this in patties on foil. It stuck to the foil and the only discernable flavor was of cloves of which I only used half the amount. Ground chicken needs to be used for an amorphous protein source in a hearty sauce, where its lack of fat is an advantage. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Very tasty! I actually flattened mine in the pan and created a "cake" instead of a ball; they resembled crab or salmon cakes. My husband loved them and suggested we make sandwiches out of the leftovers--yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I didnt have ricotta cheese and thought it was just fine without it. I did as soemone else suggested and baked instead of fried these at 425 for 20 minutes... everyone finished their plates including my 5 and 2 year olds. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Tasty! Didn't have ricotta, but will try again using it (drain first?). Let the mixture sit (or in fridge) for 10 minutes to absorb some of the moisture before handling. Used corn flakes as coating also and baked at 425 for 20 minutes, lightly spraying foil on cookie sheet first and also lightly spraying patties with oil. Mozarella cheese spilled out for me when baking though, not sure how to fix that. Everyone liked. Is a keeper for a healthier patty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
My husband LOVED these! Next time I think I will try to put a chunk of mozzarella in the middle of each - like a chicken mozzarella stick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D'Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
seemed a lil bland so i added more spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I thought this was a total waste of good ingredients. I really wanted to like these, but they just didn't work the way the recipe was intended and tasted really strange. I mixed up all the ingredients in the first step--the ONLY thing I did differently was to use half the amount of cloves. I wish I had left them out completely because the flavor of cloves and fresh basil was overpowering. Second, the mixture was so wet and sticky there was no way to roll them into balls and then in cracker crumbs. I ended up mixing the crumbs into the chicken so it would hold together and then scooping them into "balls". Even then they were still way too soft to fry in oil, so I baked them like another reviewer had done. Once baked they had a nice texture and got crunchy on the outside, but they tasted awful! My husband was really hungry and managed to eat several by dipping them in mustard, but he said they still tasted too much like cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I found this recipe since I had ground chicken on hand and needed some inspiration. I ended up using Cheez It crackers because I didn't have any other kind. I also ended up turning the balls into patties like another reviewer when I couldn't roll them in the pan very well. While I thought they turned out okay, my kids weren't big fans, so not sure I will try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey-mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States