Easy Chicken Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
This came out so poorly tasting and the texture was so gross that I ended up wasting a bunch of money and was forced to throw it away
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I found that leaving out the ricotta and cloves and adding a little sour cream and extra cheese made for a very moist chicken ball. Also, I noticed many people had trouble getting their chicken balls to say together and/or found them hard to handle. I solved this by refrigerating the balls for about 30 minutes after I made them. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and found them to be delicious! I made a homemade marinara sauce to dip them in and it was a huge hit in my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. We spent over $20 and over an hour making sure everything went right and wound up leaving McDonalds with something slightly more edible. The cloves caused the whole thing to taste awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
had fun making and eating these things! def one of my favs :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jered Sturgill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
My husband LOVED these! Next time I think I will try to put a chunk of mozzarella in the middle of each - like a chicken mozzarella stick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D'Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
seemed a lil bland so i added more spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I thought this was a total waste of good ingredients. I really wanted to like these, but they just didn't work the way the recipe was intended and tasted really strange. I mixed up all the ingredients in the first step--the ONLY thing I did differently was to use half the amount of cloves. I wish I had left them out completely because the flavor of cloves and fresh basil was overpowering. Second, the mixture was so wet and sticky there was no way to roll them into balls and then in cracker crumbs. I ended up mixing the crumbs into the chicken so it would hold together and then scooping them into "balls". Even then they were still way too soft to fry in oil, so I baked them like another reviewer had done. Once baked they had a nice texture and got crunchy on the outside, but they tasted awful! My husband was really hungry and managed to eat several by dipping them in mustard, but he said they still tasted too much like cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I found this recipe since I had ground chicken on hand and needed some inspiration. I ended up using Cheez It crackers because I didn't have any other kind. I also ended up turning the balls into patties like another reviewer when I couldn't roll them in the pan very well. While I thought they turned out okay, my kids weren't big fans, so not sure I will try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Excellent. Finally ground chicken recipe with taste. The clove was a real surprise. Some reviews mentioned leaving out/forgetting the ricotta. I highly recommend using it. It was worth the effort. I swapped out the ketchup for chili sauce. It was the right thing to do if you want a light "red-flavored kick".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I didnt have ricotta cheese and thought it was just fine without it. I did as soemone else suggested and baked instead of fried these at 425 for 20 minutes... everyone finished their plates including my 5 and 2 year olds. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States