Easy, Cheesy Zucchini Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This is the BEST squash recipe ever! My family isnt really big on squash - however, everyone loved this! I moted the corn, sauteed the turkey with garlic powder, italian seasoning, and a bit of ground red pepper. I sliced the zucchini and then layered it, lasagna style in the pan with the sauce and cheese. It was a bit runny but nothing to complain about. Super recipe that I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I made this like lasagna, cutting the zucchini in thin strips and layering with the meat sauce. I also used green pepper, onion, garlic, oregano, and thyme to season the meat. I did not put any corn in the casserole because I'm diabetic and corn makes my blood sugar soar. Lastly, I used a small jar of Ragu pizza sauce (because I didn't have any spaghetti sauce on hand!) and added a drained can of diced tomatoes to it. Everyone raved about the flavor and my husband said, "It's a keeper!".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keyos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Junction, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I don't know about this dish... it needs seasoning and a few tweaks. I added 2 cloves of garlic, chopped, while browning ground beef (had it thawed out already, so used it instead of turkey). I followed the rest of the recipe exactly, but wish I would have omitted the corn. It really doesn't seem to go with the rest of the ingredients. I think to make this work better I would do the following: precook zucchini until tender. Scoop out insides, leaving shell. Spoon beef/turkey into shells. Add zucchini guts to tomato sauce, along with seasoning of choice, and pour that over the top of the zucchinis. Forget about the corn. Then, bake as originally directed. Just some thoughts, but I think that would turn this into at least a 4 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Glad I bought ground turkey by accident or I never would have tried this. Pretty basic, nothing over the top. I sauteed the zucchini with olive oil and garlic and browned the turkey beforehand. I thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I wasn't crazy about this. It was very watery and bland. The zucchini was hard despite the longercooking time as othrs have suggested. I don't understand why this one got such good reviews. My kids thought is was tasteless. Hubby thought it was okay. Won't make this again. I will stick with my turkey meatballs recipe for ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I made this tonight with a few changes. I browned the ground turkey, added finely chopped fresh spinach, chopped zucchini, and frozen corn. Following another reviewer's suggestion, I added cumin & chili powder to season it. I skipped baking it in the oven & skipped the spaghetti sauce (totally forgot about adding it, but liked it without), but still added shredded cheese. The casserole was served over brown rice. My kids gave it two thumbs up, though my son picked around the zucchini. Next time I'll probably add some minced garlic to give it a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
It was pretty good, a little bit of trouble with the wateriness, but not too much to notice. I didn't bother layering, just dumped one mixture on top of the other. I did add olives before adding cheese, and it was a definite plus. Everyone loved it, and it felt healthy, and so chocked with veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatBeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This was such a good, simple and nutritious recipe. I did omit the corn, added onion, garlic, and italian seasoning, and served it over large macaroni noodles to increase the kid appeal. My kids refuse to eat zucchini, but they tried it and admitted that it was pretty good. The zucchini takes on the flavor of the sauce. Had the leftovers for lunch today and they were great! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This is a good, easy recipe, but a bit bland. Next time will add some spices like cayenne pepper and garlic powder to give it some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
This was a great kids meal served over rice. My four year old and 1 year old really liked it. I cooked zucchini first then cooked turkey, onion, garlic, mushrooms, and oregano. Added corn to the top. And then cheese. Good, easy, and best off quick meal. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford Lakes, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Easy Turkey Tetrazzini

This simple dish features leftover turkey in a creamy noodle casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States