Easy, Cheesy Zucchini Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
This was good, will make again. I pretty much followed recipe, but based on others having problems with zuchinni, I melted a little butter & sauteed the zuchinni until the started to brown slightly. I browned the turkey in the same pan I sauteed the zuchinni in & also added some chopped onions & garlic. I mixed in 2 cups of ragu spaghetti sauce w/mushrooms & green peppers & a can of corn & poured over the zuchinni! Covered & baked for about 30 minutes, removed foil, let cook another 10 minutes to thicken it up a little more & then put some freshly shredded cheddar cheese over the top, cooked until bubbly. I served it over wild rice (uncle ben's) & made garlic bread to go with it. My fiance liked it & said he'd take some to work today for lunch..(he is picky & will not take leftovers if he thought the meal was just ok) Nice change from hamburger meat & chicken & pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This was such a good, simple and nutritious recipe. I did omit the corn, added onion, garlic, and italian seasoning, and served it over large macaroni noodles to increase the kid appeal. My kids refuse to eat zucchini, but they tried it and admitted that it was pretty good. The zucchini takes on the flavor of the sauce. Had the leftovers for lunch today and they were great! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I don't know about this dish... it needs seasoning and a few tweaks. I added 2 cloves of garlic, chopped, while browning ground beef (had it thawed out already, so used it instead of turkey). I followed the rest of the recipe exactly, but wish I would have omitted the corn. It really doesn't seem to go with the rest of the ingredients. I think to make this work better I would do the following: precook zucchini until tender. Scoop out insides, leaving shell. Spoon beef/turkey into shells. Add zucchini guts to tomato sauce, along with seasoning of choice, and pour that over the top of the zucchinis. Forget about the corn. Then, bake as originally directed. Just some thoughts, but I think that would turn this into at least a 4 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
My family liked this recipe even if they are not fans of zucchini however I did make some changes because of the reviews. Here are the changes I’ve made……I sautéed onions, garlic and fresh mushrooms in a little bit of olive oil then added my ground turkey, salt and pepper and browned my turkey. After my turkey was browned I added my pasta sauce and some Italian seasoning I also added my zucchini to the sauce and mixed together. Because my family is not fans of zucchini what I did is I shredded the zucchini which once mixed in with the sauce and ground turkey you can hardly tell it’s in there and it also cooked much better then sliced or cut length wise. I topped my casserole with a bit of parmesan and light cheddar cheese and baked uncovered at 350 for about 25 minutes. I served it over broad egg noodles…..next time I will add a bit more spices because it’s still missing a bit but over all very good and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickadeeD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
My husband and I loved this, although I did make one change: Instead of using halved fresh zucchini, I used a bag of frozen sliced zucchini. It still came out great, though, and I can't wait to try it with fresh zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This is the BEST squash recipe ever! My family isnt really big on squash - however, everyone loved this! I moted the corn, sauteed the turkey with garlic powder, italian seasoning, and a bit of ground red pepper. I sliced the zucchini and then layered it, lasagna style in the pan with the sauce and cheese. It was a bit runny but nothing to complain about. Super recipe that I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I ended up slicing the zucchini in circles, though I don't really remember why now (I think it had something to do with the shape of my baking dish) and I added onions, mushrooms and more cheese than the recipe called for and it ended up being delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
My husband liked this. It wasn't to watery for me. When I covered it with foil I poked a few holes in it to let the steam escape. It seemed to work. I will do this one again. Maybe add some olives and mushrooms instead of the corn. Corn makes my husbands blood sugar go up. With a few substitutes this will work good for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
This was a great kids meal served over rice. My four year old and 1 year old really liked it. I cooked zucchini first then cooked turkey, onion, garlic, mushrooms, and oregano. Added corn to the top. And then cheese. Good, easy, and best off quick meal. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford Lakes, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Not bad. I added garlic, oregano, basil and onion powder, and subbed cheddar for the Mexican blend, and might add spinach if I make it again. I realize this totally takes the recipe in another direction, so I am going to try it again and add peppers, cumin, chili powder, etc. All in all, a good basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States