Easy, Cheesy Zucchini Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
This was good, will make again. I pretty much followed recipe, but based on others having problems with zuchinni, I melted a little butter & sauteed the zuchinni until the started to brown slightly. I browned the turkey in the same pan I sauteed the zuchinni in & also added some chopped onions & garlic. I mixed in 2 cups of ragu spaghetti sauce w/mushrooms & green peppers & a can of corn & poured over the zuchinni! Covered & baked for about 30 minutes, removed foil, let cook another 10 minutes to thicken it up a little more & then put some freshly shredded cheddar cheese over the top, cooked until bubbly. I served it over wild rice (uncle ben's) & made garlic bread to go with it. My fiance liked it & said he'd take some to work today for lunch..(he is picky & will not take leftovers if he thought the meal was just ok) Nice change from hamburger meat & chicken & pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
This meal was super quick and easy to make. I stacked slices of zucchini instead of halving them and they cooked perfectly. I also used a lot of seasoning (onion powder and garlic herb mix from Costco)in the turkey. My husband and I enjoyed it and will most likely have it again. i think the next time I will use less sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This is a very easy and delicious meal. My kids like it, as does my husband. The second time I made it I only had a partial jar of spaghetti sauce, about 2 cups, and the dish turned out less watery but just as tasty. We love cheese, so I added more to taste. Very good, and I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FONDUE79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This was very good. I ended up using cream of chicken soup instead of spaghetti sauce and omitted the corn. I thought that I had a jar of spaghetti sauce when I started cooking, but I didnt. I also sliced the zucchini and cooked it with the turkey because of other issues with it not being tender. I also added garlic and bread crumbs to the zucchini/turkey mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I used a huge zucchini cut in quarters, salsa, and fat free cheddar cheese and served it with a little brown rice. The zucchini was still too firm after over 45 minutes of baking. If I try this again I'll try sliced zucchini as the base. Overall, it was a good healthy alternative, but still a little strange. I liked it, but my husband wasn't too crazy about it. Maybe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This recipe was a hit at my house. I tweaked this recipe by chopping the zucchini, adding fresh mushrooms to the ground turkey and sprinkling in some salt, pepper and onion powder. I will definitely make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BWolfe925

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
I only used 2 cups of marinara and smaller zucchinis. I also added chopped jalapenos, black olives and feta cheese. When I browned the turkey burger, I added garlic salt, pepper and italian seasoning. Cooked for 25 minutes under foil, then 10 minutes uncovered. I had no problem with the zucchini being tender or the dish being too watery. I think next time I would just quarter up the zucchini in bite sizes. It didn't seem to absorb any of the flavor. Tasty but needs tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sportshealer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
We were not wild about this. It seemed to be missing something. I browned the turkey with onion, basil, garlic, etc AND added some noodles. Still kind of bland. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
This recipe was okay...but not great. I added some Italian seasoning and garlic powder to the turkey while I was browning it and that turned out great! I also added a 14.5oz can of corn (I don't know where you find an 8oz can) and that was good too. Everything was great until I added it to the zucchini. The flavor (or lack thereof) of the zucchini made the rest of the casserole bland - even with the extra spices that I added! I think that this would taste much better over pasta rather than zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
This looks great. I have tried a similar recipe.. but for it to be low carb.. the corn needs to be left out. I think i will try it with mozzarella and parmesean cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States