Easy Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
better than my crock pot ones EVERY TIME, it's now the way I always make them! however, I am very against any uncooked or too hard potatoes and occasionally you get that open baking in the oven, where they cook too fast on top and bottom and some in the middle are more crunchy than I like. I have had some success sealing the top in tinfoil and taking it off for the last ten minutes or so for the cheese to brown, but my favorite way is to just boil the sliced taters until half done, drain the water and finish in the oven for the hour. Perfection every time!!!! I also double the cream cheese and sour cream because we like ours heavy on the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I have been looking for a scalloped potato recipe that was as good as Reser's Bistro potatoes which we get at Costco and this is it! I left out the ham and peas and prepared it exactly as the recipe called for--absolutely great! We were scraping the side of the dish after it was all gone! Will be making this again soon! Easy, tasty and so very creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This was excellent! I followed one recommendation and substituted plain yogurt (greek) and left out the peas. I added 1/2 onion thinly sliced and then quartered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom  Hansen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goshen, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Delicious as is but my son will not eat peas mixed with his potatoes so My own little tweaks: simmer the potatoes in the broth and a little milk with garlic and onion to speed up cooking. Then I add the sour cream cream cheese and cheddar to the hot potatoes, stir, pour in baking dish. Bake 1/2 hour and top with grated parm/romano cheese. Back in oven for few minutes to incorporate the topping.. No ham and no peas. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
AMAZING!! So easy and delicious! I omited the peas (I'm not a pea fan) and added french fried onions to the top (Recommend to everyone). It added extra flavor without overpowering the dish. I also used a chicken boullion cube as I didn't have chicken broth on hand (worked great!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Very creamy and flavorful dish. Had to amend a bit. Didn't have sourcream or ham so I used cream of mushroom soup and leftover J'Ville brats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I used Velveeta instead of cheddar in the potatoes and just before they were done I topped them w/ some cheddar and swiss. I also added some garlic powder, chopped onion and mustard. These are amazing and I think this is how I'm going to make them from now on. I also used fat free cream cheese and low fat mayo to lighten them up a little. YUM! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nakina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Constable, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I didnt like it. I followed the recipe exactly, the pototoes took way longer than an hour to cook. If you like extra rich extra creamy extra cheesy dishes, this is the recipe for you. Definitely not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
The cream cheese flavor was very strong in the otherwise bland sauce. Also, the potatoes took much longer than an hour to cook, even after parboiling them first. I will stick with the old cream-of-mushroom soup and hashbrown recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I tripled this recipie for a big group for dinner. Was very disappointed in how it came out. Was not very flavorful. I would not try this recipie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States