Easy Cheesy Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I gave this recipe 3 stars because the original was much too bland. After reading the reviews, I decided to start off doing this recipe by adding half a packet of Italian dressing mix. Unfortunately, I shouldn't have added any extra salt because the Italian seasoning. To fix the sauce's saltiness, I added sour cream until it tasted just right. I also added a little less than 2 tablespoons of "oh so garlic" which is a mix of spices you can find at your grocery store. Tip* Even if you're making only two chicken breasts, still use the same amount of creamed soups so that the chicken can be fully covered. Now, I don't like mushrooms but did use the cream of mushroom just for variety (I didn't taste mushrooms at all). I served this atop of fried rice (Which the sauce added wonderful flavor to). If you have left overs, grab some tortillas, shred the chicken, add some black beans, shredded cheese and you have burritos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nxtfaze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Very quick and easy recipe. We enjoyed it, but it wasn't cheesy by any stretch of the imagination. This is definitely a do-again recipe, but next time I will make variations to it such as replacing one can of soup with mixed vegetables and shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
I've made this dish a second time and I have to say - it's not that great. I tried to fix up the chicken so it tasted better than it did the first time by grilling it and cutting it then adding it to the sauce with rice, but it still didn't turn out so great. This is my last time making this dish. Now I have to figure out what to do with my extra cans of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, California, USA
Living In: Pomona, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
I knew better...I did. I tried it anyway out of sheer laziness. My family was slightly horrified and grumbled all through dinner. I don't know if it was the "fake cheese" taste of the cheddar soup, or what. This is bland beyond description. It was barely salvageable. There were so many things that I added to the finished dish that I can't even begin to list them all. I knew better...cream of mushroom---ok, plus cream of chicken---pushing it, add in fake cheese in a can---disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I used turkey breast instead of chicken for a change of pace. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seeshells

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This was a really good recipe. I made it for my mom's bday with 3 chicken breasts. It was one of the easiest dinners I've ever made and my mom can't stop saying how much she loved it. I made this again and added velvetta at the end and served it over eggnoodles. I also added in a little adobo and cumin. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
This was soo delicious! I made it in the crockpot using 8 chicken tenders and mixed the end result with rice and it was so fantastic! My picky 2yr old son ate every bite and I've been eating the leftovers for 2 days now. My only tip is that it is better on rice than noodles because of how thin the sauce is at the end. Mix the pre cooked rice into the crockpot after the sour cream and let it sit for 10 minutes. PERFECT! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I added a bit more flavor with salt, pepper, garlic, etc but this was easy and good! I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecilia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This was certainly easy to make, but cheesy? Our household loves cheese, so we expect something to truly be cheesy if it says it in the title. I was sick the night this was made, so I had my husband make it. He would have made it exactly as written. Had I seen the ingredients, I would have known it wouldn't be cheesy, but oh well. :) It was good, but a little bland. Thanks, anyhow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
My husband and 2 toddler boys enjoyed this meal. I followed the recipe and after tasting wasn't wowed by it so I made a few adjustments. I added the ingedients I would when making a cheese sauce - a few handfuls of extra sharp cheddar cheese, a few dashes of hot sauce, 1-2 tablespoons worcestershire, and a few dashes of paprika. I didn't have the sour cream so I used 4 oz of cream cheese and it gave it a rich and creamy flavor. The sauce was so think I added a few splashes of chicken stock. The chicken was so tender I couldn't cut it into bit sizes so shredded it and served all of it over rice and served it with fresh green beans. All in all I think it turned out well for such an easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 588) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States