Easy Cheesy Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
I've made this dish a second time and I have to say - it's not that great. I tried to fix up the chicken so it tasted better than it did the first time by grilling it and cutting it then adding it to the sauce with rice, but it still didn't turn out so great. This is my last time making this dish. Now I have to figure out what to do with my extra cans of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
I knew better...I did. I tried it anyway out of sheer laziness. My family was slightly horrified and grumbled all through dinner. I don't know if it was the "fake cheese" taste of the cheddar soup, or what. This is bland beyond description. It was barely salvageable. There were so many things that I added to the finished dish that I can't even begin to list them all. I knew better...cream of mushroom---ok, plus cream of chicken---pushing it, add in fake cheese in a can---disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I used turkey breast instead of chicken for a change of pace. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seeshells

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This was a really good recipe. I made it for my mom's bday with 3 chicken breasts. It was one of the easiest dinners I've ever made and my mom can't stop saying how much she loved it. I made this again and added velvetta at the end and served it over eggnoodles. I also added in a little adobo and cumin. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
This was soo delicious! I made it in the crockpot using 8 chicken tenders and mixed the end result with rice and it was so fantastic! My picky 2yr old son ate every bite and I've been eating the leftovers for 2 days now. My only tip is that it is better on rice than noodles because of how thin the sauce is at the end. Mix the pre cooked rice into the crockpot after the sour cream and let it sit for 10 minutes. PERFECT! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I added a bit more flavor with salt, pepper, garlic, etc but this was easy and good! I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecilia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This was certainly easy to make, but cheesy? Our household loves cheese, so we expect something to truly be cheesy if it says it in the title. I was sick the night this was made, so I had my husband make it. He would have made it exactly as written. Had I seen the ingredients, I would have known it wouldn't be cheesy, but oh well. :) It was good, but a little bland. Thanks, anyhow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
My husband and 2 toddler boys enjoyed this meal. I followed the recipe and after tasting wasn't wowed by it so I made a few adjustments. I added the ingedients I would when making a cheese sauce - a few handfuls of extra sharp cheddar cheese, a few dashes of hot sauce, 1-2 tablespoons worcestershire, and a few dashes of paprika. I didn't have the sour cream so I used 4 oz of cream cheese and it gave it a rich and creamy flavor. The sauce was so think I added a few splashes of chicken stock. The chicken was so tender I couldn't cut it into bit sizes so shredded it and served all of it over rice and served it with fresh green beans. All in all I think it turned out well for such an easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
This is okay, not something I would likely make again. I didn't care for the way the chicken breasts tasted after cooking the crock pot, although it was very tender. Also I found the sauce the be pretty bland. I tried adding the italian dressing mix as others recommended, but it still didn't improve the flavor much, just made it really salty. However my husband & kids enjoyed it. I think it's a good family pleaser, especially for picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chloenavasmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Delicious!! I didn't have the Cheddar soup so I subbed with some Velveeta. Chicken was tasty and moist. I even started off with frozen breasts. Cooked perfectly in 8 hours. Served over egg noodles. I find it really unfair if you don't like creamed soups, then don't make it and give it a bad rating. This is a really easy, tasty, moist chicken dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 586) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States